Catalog – Booking Through Thursday

Catalog December 13, 2007

Filed under: WordPress — –Deb @ 1:14 am
btt button

Do you use any of the online book-cataloguing sites, like Library Thing or Shelfari? Why or why not? (Or . . . do you have absolutely no idea what I’m talking to?? (grin))

If not an online catalog, do you use any other method to catalog your book collection? Excel spreadsheets, index cards, a notebook, anything?

****************************************************************************

I have no method.  I am catalog-free.  I don’t keep track of the books I’ve read or the books I own on spreadsheets, cards, or notebooks.   I guess I’m not very analytical that way.  Is that a bad thing??

I started listing my books on Shelfari but didn’t keep up with it.  I like the IDEA of cataloging my books, but the practice of it is too time consuming for me.  I’ve never looked at Library Thing (<–making a mental note to check that out next time I’m surfing the ‘net).

Initially, this blog was my feeble attempt at keeping track of what my book club has read, and my thoughts on those books, but it has morphed into something a little different.   I’m still using it for that purpose, but I also use it to make connections with other readers, to sort out my feelings, to document my days.  I’m enjoying this new (to me)  form of communication.

What about you?  Do you catalog your books?

12 Responses

  1. A couple of years ago I went thru & put all of mine on an excel spreadsheet. It took me 3 days of constant work. I have since gotten lazy and forgotten to add to it.

  2. No, I don’t catalog my books, either. I will have to go check out those sites but I don’t I will. I do have my address book tbr that once I read it, I check and note when I did so… but even that is woefully neglected.

  3. I use Good Reads, as of recently, and absolutely love it. I find myself obsessively updating my lists. I think what I like most is being able to add books to my “To-Read” shelf and then I don’t forget them. I always check that list before I head to the library so I remember what to look for.

  4. Well, if I were starting from scratch, owning only a few books, sure! These programs sound like fun. BUT … I own at least 3,000 books. And two kids. And a full-time job. See any time there to catalog 3,000+ books? Me neither! :)

  5. I have absolutely no method, not even a “to read” list. I do somehow know where all of my books are at (almost) any given time, so I figure my non-method works just fine…

  6. Not a bad thing at all. I’m the same way. I’ve done Library Thing, but since I eventually give away my books, it doesn’t make much sense. And I’m on my third blog. I always start with the best of bookish intentions, and then just ramble on about nothing much.

  7. I use good reads also and I love it.

  8. I have a Shelfari account and like the look of it but I rarely visit it. I really do need to catalogue ALL my books especially since we move every few years. (Gotta love being married to a Federal Agent! *sigh*)
    I really like bkclubcare’s use of an address book for her TBR catalogue purposes.

  9. Thanks for all the comments. LeBlanc, ditto on the laziness. I would rather read than catalog, and if that’s lazy, so be it! Care, address book=great idea! Bookmama, I’m like you. I would have to jump in where I’m at.. I can’t imagine trying to go back and catalog everything I own. No way. Thea, even without a method of keeping track, I know where everything is, too. Softdrink, I give a lot away, too. Have you tried Bookcrossing??? I’ll go to your blog and tell you about it. Karen (Planet Books) I did not know you were married to a James Bond type. How exciting!! BTW I’ve heard Library Thing is way better than Shelfari, although I don’t have any firsthand knowledge of that.

    Thanks, everyone, for your great comments!

  10. I started to do it obsessively once, got sidetracked and never went back. I keep a list of books read just to prevent re-reading and to share my faves with a friend. I’d rather read what I have than write about it.

  11. I don’t know about cataloging my books – it seems I spend enough of my free time reading, bloging and sometimes knitting that I don’t need another “to do” thing on my list!

  12. I have used Shelfari, but my time is limited and I don’t find a great deal of value to it. Most of my really good book recommendations come from friends and family, and from listing to NPR (programs like “Fresh Air” and “All Things Considered”).
    Kim

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

