Calling all Book Bloggers

Being somewhat new to the world of book blogs, I was pleasantly surprised to learn how easy it is to snag free books.  There are so many contests and giveaways all over the web, and who doesn’t want more reading material, especially if it’s free?  In the past few months I’ve signed up for dozens of contests and giveaways, and won many of them.  Must be the luck o’ the Irish (Happy St. Patty’s Day, by the way!)

Well, I’ve discovered that publicists, publishers, distributors and authors are just as eager (if not more so) to give me their books as I am to receive them.  Why me? Because I am an enthusiastic reader who loves to share what I read on my blog. Free books+Free promotion= win/win situation!

Lisa Roe is an online publicist who loves her job.  She spends a portion of each day checking out book blogs (wait, I do that, too.. and she’s getting paid.. I want her job!)  She loves to read and is dedicated to getting books into the hands of bloggers.  The internet has changed the way publicists publicize.  Online promotion is the cutting edge of getting the word out about new books.

Lisa is taking a creative approach by actively seeking out book bloggers to read and review the books she is promoting. She’s inviting book bloggers to take a look at her brand new website.  If you see a title there that fits the content of your blog, she will send it to you to read and review.  She is also open to the possibility of book giveaways, contest, author interviews and guest posts on your blog (whatever it takes to promote those books!)

She has a mix of fiction and non fiction titles to choose from.  Even though I normally read fiction, one title that caught my eye is:  STAY HEALTHY, LIVE LONGER, SPEND WISELY by Davis, M.D. Liu : Written by a practicing family physician employed by one of the nation’s top healthcare organizations, this book provides critical information readers need to make intelligent medical and financial decisions to not only increase their chances for good health but also to get the most value out of their healthcare dollars. It is the only book that simultaneously tackles both the medical and financial perspective of staying healthy. Stay Healthy, Live Longer, Spend Wisely 

 51kpk7d-m5l_ou01_aa240_sh20_.jpg

Go check out Lisa’s site and send her an email if you’re interested in reading and reviewing one of the titles she’s promoting.  She’ll send you the book.  For free.  Yes, I do so love a free book!

12 Responses

  1. Thank you so much for this post! I already went there and asked for a book!

  2. Once again Lisa, you are so in the know.
    Happy St. Paddy’s day to you!!

  3. Thanks for sharing the link! I’m headed there right now!

  4. Great post but what are other blogs or sites that give away free books??

    I was going to exchange my entrecard points to a book and well your post made me go google for some more sites to get freebies.

    ^_^

  5. Webster, I left a comment on your blog about giveaways.

  6. Thanks for sharing the link – I’ve requested to review a book too

  7. Thanks for the link, Lisa! I checked out the website and found a book that really sparked my interest. How do you alway find all of these?

  8. Through LibraryThing.com you can catalog your books (always a plus!) and you can join the ‘Early Reviewers’ Club. Every month they have a lottery for not-yet-released books. It’s not guaranteed, but it certainly helps your chances of snagging another one if you write a review. Check it out!

  9. Thanks for the great link! I requested Maggie Again.

  10. thanks! Saw it and i think i may try it.

  11. I work for Manic Readers http://www.manicreaders.com and we are always looking for people how love to read and write reviews. We receive a wide rane of romance books in both ebook and print formats.

    If interested in being a reviewer, send a sample review of a book you’ve recently read to info@manicreaders.com

  12. [...] 12, 2008 A while back, Lisa wrote a post about a publicist who connects bloggers with free books for review. I clicked on the link at found [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

