Teaser Tuesdays – 4/7/09

tuesday-tMiz B and Teaser Tuesdays asks you to: Grab your current read. Let the book fall open to a random page. Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

music-teacherMy teaser this week comes from page 66 of The Music Teacher by Barbara Hall, which I just received yesterday from Algonquin Books (haven’t started it yet).

“For me, it all started in the second grade, when the class was auditioned for the school band.  That was back in the day when there was such a thing as a music program in public schools.”

Oh, how well I can relate to this teaser!  In California, budget cuts have decimated the schools’ music and art programs.  Our school sent home a notice this week that the limited music program we had this year is now officially terminated for next year.  No music.  No art.  Lots of state testing, though!

11 Responses

  1. love the teaser! and i wish music programs weren’t getting cut all the time. mine was great and i loved music in HS.

    My Teaser

  2. HA!!!! Yeah, I remember having to audition, and then we got a new band teacher that didn’t believe in pigeon holing people and that we would all get better if we each had to play different levels.

  3. I loved mine, too. Good reminder to go blow the dust off the violin…

  4. How sad that the music program was cut! Thankfully we still had music and band when I was in school. I was good at academics but music was the only thing that I was the best at (at least in my section). It helped me in so many ways (confidence, math skills, as a creative outlet, etc).

  5. Thanks for the great comments!

    Some of my best memories from grade school are of music and art classes.

    Alyce, that’s why I’m so sad about it. My youngest is good academically- a solid B student- but she’s really musical, and had been waiting to be old enough to play the flute, and now- there’s no district band. There’s a Christian school down the street that is really good and offers everything we want- band, music, art, sports- at a price, of course. We’re trying to figure out if we can afford it. I really want that kind of well rounded education for her.

  6. My brother got all the musical talent in our family. In fact, I was the only girl in 6th grade NOT in the choir.

    I still think it sucks that CA cuts the arts and music programs first, though. :-(

  7. How sad–it really bothers me to hear about the arts being cut. I was an okay student, but I excelled in the arts. I can’t imagine how terrible I would have felt in school had those opportunities not been afforded to me. So very sad.

  8. Art programs have been getting the short end of the stick for more than a few years now, which really, really sucks. I went through school playing the violin and the cello and, even now, I still miss it!

    Great teaser!

  9. I really enjoyed this one!!

  10. Great teaser, Lisa!

    It’s so sad that music and art have been cut from so many of the public schools here in the U.S. It’s really a tragedy.

  11. Good teaser. Sorry I just stumbled on your site (thankfully).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

