Teaser Tuesday

Grab your current read.  Let the book fall open to a random page.  Share with us two (2) sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.

You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!

_________________________________________________________________

This teaser is taken from page 39 of  an ARC of This is Not the Story You Think It Is… A Season of Unlikely Happiness by Laura Munson, sent to me by the lovely Lydia at Amy Einhorn/Putnam Books.  In a nutshell, it’s a memoir of how the author copes during her husband’s midlife crisis.  I haven’t had to deal with that specific problem yet, knock on wood.

“So to support our mutually fanatical sushi habit and cover our other expenses (priorities in that order), we took night jobs at a popular Boston Garden post-game haunt called the Scotch ‘n Sirloin–emphasis on the ‘n.  The tips were big there, and so were the hair, the heels, and the clientele–many of them actual Boston Celtics.”

What are you reading this week?

4 Responses

  1. I know, I keep waiting for my husband to have one! Will it be a car? A woman? Gambling? I need to start suggesting that the new mid-life crisis requires a beach condo. Love the teaser. I remember big hair.

  2. I have this book in my stack, but have not yet got the chance to read it. I have heard that it’s supposed to be good. The premise reminds me a little of Perfection.

  3. Oh boy, my heart goes out to the Laura Munson! I’m not sure I could stomach a job at that place for too long, even to keep me in sushi, but I’m sure Munson has many stories to tell about her experiences there!

    Love this teaser!
    ~ Amy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

