My first post on my new blog!

This is so cool! I’m finding my way around wordpress.com and figuring out how to set up my page. Seems pretty easy so far.

I guess an introduction is in order. I’m Lisa, married to Bob for a looooong time. 20 years, yikes. I got married at 14, haha. Well, I was young(ish) but not quite that young! I’m also a mom of 2 girls, who think they are “tweens” at ages 8 and 9. Isn’t “tween” more like 11 or 12 years? Anyway, they are my greatest source of joy and frustration all at once. But being their mom is what I do best. I’ll be writing about my girls a lot.

dscn2316.jpg
My latest obsession is my book club! I invited a bunch of friends, neighbors, and my mom to join me in starting a reading group back in March ’07, and it’s been really fun. I’ll be posting our current selections and my thoughts on what we’re reading each month, plus links to author’s websites and discussion questions. Maybe we’ll even have an online book club here on my new blog, if anyone is interested.

So check back frequently! Once I get the place all fixed up, I’ll be posting regularly.

11 Responses

  1. Very Cool!!! You are my first friend to enter the world of blogs – Kind of scary. I barely know how to use my email! Good Luck!

  2. Welcome to the world of blogging, Lisa!๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be looking forward to more posts.

    http://www.izzarina.wordpress.com

  3. So …. what’s your current book club selection? You’re teasing us! L)

  4. Er, that was supposed to be๐Ÿ™‚

  5. BookMama, we have 2 this month.. they are !000 White Women: The Journals of May Dodd, by Jim Fergus, and Into the Wild, by Jon Krakauer. Thanks for stopping by! ~Lisa

  6. Hmm, the Journals of Mary Dodd sounds interesting. May have to add it to my “someday” list. I’ve heard of Into the Wild of course but haven’t read it. Someday, perhaps.

  7. Hi Lisa! I’m jealous you got a bookclub to work. NO ONE, and I repeat NO ONE seems to be interested in my little circle of friends. We tried – got 8 people to show up at first but only 3 of us stuck it out for almost a year. Then we had personality conflicts that only make a small group fall apart. sigh.

  8. Care, I would say keep trying.. it is so worth it. Maybe ask the 3 who have stuck it out to invite someone new to grow it a bit. Incidentally, we have the opposite problem in that our group is becoming too large (12 core people and 2 occasional people) that we don’t fit very comfortable in everyone’s homes. It’s a good size group, though, for great conversation, food, and laughs. We are having a lot of fun. I never thought of reading as a social activity before this! Thanks for the comments, and come back to let me know what you’re reading! We’re always looking for ideas!

  9. […] was so patient with me and so friendly. A day or two later I started Books on the Brain with this silly post, not realizing at the time how much it would change my […]

  10. […] was so patient with me and so friendly. A day or two later I started Books on the Brain with this silly post, not realizing at the time how much it would change my […]

  11. And here you are 100K hits later …wow! Congrats on the milestone, Lisa๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

