Goosebumps starts tonight!!

It has only been in the last few weeks that my 8 year old has (finally!) picked up a book just for the sheer pleasure of reading. K. is a girl who likes a good mystery, who likes to be a little bit scared (but not TOO much!), so when I picked up Stay Out of the Basement from the Goosebump Series by RL Stine, I thought it would be the perfect fit for her. And it was! She has now read 4 Goosebumps books, and she loves them. In fact, we’ve been reading them together at bedtime, and the whole family is enjoying them.

What a surprise it was the other day when K. was watching a little afterschool tv, and the Goosebumps commercial came on! She came running into the kitchen screaming, “MOM! Goosebumps is going to be on tv!!” 2 episodes every weekday in October at 8pm on Cartoon Network. We are BEYOND excited!

dscn2958.jpg

Bedtime just got a little bit scarier!

OooooHooooooHoooooHooooooAhhhhHaaaaaHaaaaHaaaa!

8 Responses

  1. Hi!

    Love your blog…what a fun idea. Have to give you a warning…Allison is like Kelly…loves mysteries and to be a little scared. We watched one of the Goosebump movies a few months ago and it was too much for my Kellie – and almost too much for Allison! I hope your girls like it but just a little “Mommy Beware” for you!🙂

    I need a whole “Books Lisa Recommends” list because the newest sounds interesting, too!

    – Sam

  2. I’m glad she’s getting into reading. It’s a great past time for any child. I got your comment on my site about what age is appropriate for that talk. Check back to see my response. Have a good day!

  3. I can’t wait until my girls can read by themselves. I sure hope they enjoy it as much as I do!

    By the way, you can continue to upload photos into your post using WordPress, but you will run out of space pretty quickly. I use Flickr (you upload your photos, then copy and paste them into your post). They come out much clearer that way.

  4. Stephanie, Thanks for the tip. I haven’t ever used Flickr.. hopefully it’s easy since I’m a bit techno-challenged. I will try it.

  5. Oh man I have seen the adverts for goosebumps (because really, why watch the news?). It really takes me back. My little brothers LOVED them, I can’t (and still can’t) take that kind of stimulation. Give me the thrill of discovery over fright any day.

  6. I was obsessed with these when I was 9 or 10… and used to watch the series too. I think I’d be too scared to read them now… adulthood has brought a stronger imagination!

  7. hey every cartoon network fan!!!!!!!!!!! i luv all ur shows n u guys and girls rock!!!!!

  8. hey,
    just want to tell you guys that im a huge fan of nick and i hope you are too. i love you nick!!!!

Leave a Reply

