Mystery Caller

I had just put the last of the groceries away, grabbed my keys, and was heading out the door to pick up my kids at school when the phone rang. I was tempted to ignore it, but with my parents out of town this week, I felt like I needed to see who it was. The caller ID said “Out of Area” which didn’t tell me much, so I picked up the phone and had the following conversation:

telephone264.gif

Me: “Hello?”

Caller: “Lisa?”

Me: “Yes?”

Caller: “Hi!! How are you?” (so happy to hear my voice!)

Me: “Umm.. fine” (checking my watch and racking my brain trying to figure out who it is). “Who is this?”

Caller: “Don’t you recognize my voice?” (laughter)

Me: “Ummm.. not really, should I?” (still thinking, who is it? Who is it?)

Caller: “That happens to me all the time!” (more laughter)

Me: “Is this Alice?” (my sister in law who lives across the country and who I rarely speak to)

Caller: “Do I sound like Alice?” (giggles)

Me: “Um, I guess. Please, I can’t figure it out. I’ve got to pick up K. Who is this?”

Caller: “Is K. at school?”

Me (getting angry): “Look, I don’t have time for this. I have to leave.”

Caller: “Ok. This is Tina, with the Fireman’s Fund, how are you today?”

Me: “Soooooo angry.” (and with that, I slammed down the phone)

Have a nice day!

13 Responses

  1. I have to wonder how many donations that approach gets them. Not many, I would think. I’d have the exact same reaction you did, regardless of whether I was on my out the door or just sitting on the couch. How annoying.

  2. OH, I’d be mad. Try to be charitable (??!??!?!) Just some teeny-bopper trying to earn some cash doing telemarketing. And she’s just trying to have some fun with her horrible j-0-b. On second thought… Hanging up was good move.

  3. Oh I hate when that happens. I hate telemarketers who get “too familiar”. I’ve had a couple of guy ones talk to me like they knew me….very annoying. I can’t believe they do that….it doesn’t help their cause

  4. Really, that was rather unprofessional for a telemarketer call. Why was she laughing and giggling as if you should know her. As bakinbit said, it does not help in their cause.

  5. […] I feel bad about hanging up on Tina the other […]

  6. Oh my gosh…that was a terrible tactic the telemarketer took. I have to say…I’m pretty impressed by your response…cracked me up!!

    Good for you!!

  7. That was a telemarketer? Holy…what a smarmy tactic… I wonder if it ever works.

  8. Smarmy! Such a perfect word choice! Thanks for commenting, sonia!

  9. that is the wrong tact to take and i can’t image any call center manager approving that tactic. If so, they should find another line of work

  10. That is just blatant. That only works because people are curious. I wouldn’t put the phone down until I knew who it was…but once I found out, I definitely wouldn’t be donating.

  11. Oooh, I hate those people who call my house asking for money! I can’t figure out which is worse, solicitors who pretend they know you, or solicitation calls where you answer the phone and find you’re on hold & supposed to wait and pick options?! Who ever does that? I hang up one everyone now. I’m just sick of them!

  12. That’s proper scary for Fireman’s Fund…I think I would have freaked out in the first few seconds, good luck with getting me to answer the phone again!

  13. just take a look at the free site myoculus.com for the solution.

Leave a Reply

