Oh, Horror! Booking Through Thursday

Oh, Horror! November 1, 2007

Filed under: WordPress — –Deb @ 1:46 am
btt button

What with yesterday being Halloween, and all . . . do you read horror? Stories of things that go bump in the night and keep you from sleeping?

I thought about asking you about whether you were participating in NaNoWriMo, but I asked that last year. Although . . . if you want to answer that one, too, please feel free to go ahead and do both, or either, your choice!

********************************************************************

Horror is not my favorite genre. My overactive imagination doesn’t need much outside stimuli to conjure up scary images. As a parent of young children, I travel scary mental paths all the time… worrying about ways my kids could be injured, harmed, lost or frightened. I just can’t read anything to do with little kids and Satan. I don’t like stories about the supernatural. It freaks me out and scares me way too much.

When I was younger I read Amityville Horror–that scared the crap out of me. As a young adult I read Steven King, Dean Koontz, Anne Rice. Interview with the Vampire and The Vampire Lestat were fascinating.

I remember staying up late into the night reading about Lestat. But now that I’m older, and a parent, I need more sleep, and I enjoy that sleep uninterrupted by nightmares!

I’m not a participant in NaNoWrMo, National Novel Writers Month, which is a challenge to write a 50,000-word novel in 30 days. I write emails and blog entries, that’s about it.

Leave a Reply

