Page 161 Meme

Here’s a fun Book Meme to try. Post your answers here or in a post of your own!

You have to open up the book you’re currently reading to page 161 and read the sixth sentence on the page, then think of 5 bloggers to tag with.

Mine is from “Garlic and Sapphires”. Here it is:

“It makes me feel sort of schizophrenic, like my thoughts are mine, but not mine.”

This quote describes the feelings of Ruth Reichl, the former restaurant critic for the New York Times, as she went around Manhattan in disguises so she wouldn’t be recognized and treated differently by all the fancy places in town.

So, what’s on page 161, 6th sentence down, in the book you’re reading?

I’d love to hear from anyone, but especially: BookMama, Stephanie at The Written Word, Karen at Planet Books (although I think she’s reading the same book!), Mr. Schu at Schu’s Blog of Lit and More, and Tara at Books and Cooks.

15 Responses

  1. Mine is

    The man in the car pointed at the library

    and is from John Grisham’s The Firm

    Not terribly highbrow, but I’m having a rest period by reading easy to read books….

  2. Hi Rayb, thanks for stopping by. Easy books are a nice ‘rest’ after deeper material. ‘The Firm’ by J. Grisham is the book that got me back into reading after a long break (several years). I wrote about it here: https://lisamm.wordpress.com/2007/11/08/booking-through-thursday-volume/

  3. “And you’d better be quick, because there’s going to be a tea party.”

    Good one, huh? Even better, if you had asked for the 7th sentence, which is: “Oh, goody.” The 8th follows right along with: “Goody, goody, gumdrops.”

    from Doris Lessing’s the sweetest dream. This is due at the library tomorrow so I’m anxious to complete and get back to Middlesex…

  4. This is a great idea. I am reading Drums, Girls, and Dangeous Pie by Jordan Sonneneblick.

    “Go ahead, then, fail math and be lonely for the rest of your life.”

    http://www.google.com/books?id=f0wNAAAACAAJ&dq=drums+girls+and+dangerous+pie&ei=3KQ3R7q5HZzGiQG2hbTmAQ

  5. I would do the meme … but would you believe I’m not reading any books right now?!?

  6. From BUDDHA A STORY OF ENLIGHTENMENT by Deepak Chopra:

    “Do you always goad poeple like this?” Gautama asked..”

    This is the book that my “real-life” book club LIT & THE ISLAND is reading this month. I have taken a break from reading it to read PLANET BOOKS’ november title, GARLIC & SAPPHIRES.

  7. “I have so much trouble with The Geet.”

    From Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman’s Search for Everything Across Italy, India, and Indonesia.

    Finally decided to see if this book lives up to the hype. She’s pretty funny and so far I’m enjoying it.

  8. These are great! It’s funny to take a line out of context and wonder about it. Right now I’m wondering what a Geet is… maybe I’ll have to join the masses and read Eat, Pray, Love to find out. I think my favorite is from mrschu81, that made me laugh! Thanks, guys!

  9. I am reading (actually rereading) Into the Wild by John Krakauer. “Walt had in fact visited Fairbanks during the start-up of the receiving station and had written some of the software crucial to its operation.”

  10. Hi Donna, I read Into the Wild recently too. Did you see the movie?

  11. I did see the movie. Did you? I thought it was amazing. Not a cheerful movie at all but definitely thought provoking. I will be sorely disappointed if there isn’t a best actor Oscar nomination for it.

  12. I did. We read the book for my book club right before the movie came out. I liked it and felt it stayed pretty true to the book. I liked the way they started at the bus and went in flashbacks through the whole thing, rather than using a linear time line. I agree the acting was superb. The only thing that disturbs me is the glorification of what he did. He was truly unprepared and under-educated in survival, and now all these kids are making pilgrimages to the bus and turning him into some sort of hero.. weird.

  13. This turned out to be a popular meme – thanks for tagging me!

  14. Hi Tara, I’m glad you had fun with it!

  15. “Mister, he doesn’t have a car on that back lot you couldn’t buy with a full tank of gas for five hundred dollars.”

    American Gods by Neil Gaiman

    If I decided to read this book on that line alone I would have chosen another book but I am glad I pick it.

Leave a Reply

