Connecting Through Words- Booking Through Thursday

Connecting Words November 19, 2007

Filed under: WordPress — –Deb @ 1:34 am
btt button

Okay, today’s question is going to be a little different. First, I’m posting it early because Thursday is Thanksgiving here in the U.S. and I’m going to be busy making and eating turkey as I’m sure some of you will also be, so I want to give everyone time to play. And two, because I’m basically going to link you through to somebody else’s blog with a question that I thought was pretty interesting.

Joanna and Brad are asking about “connecting words,” and they don’t mean conjunctions like “and” or “but.” No, what they’re looking for are unique, or treasured words that we’ve found out and about in our daily travels, words that might not be common usage, or often heard, but which struck a chord for some reason.

This is unorthodox, of course, but here’s the thing: if you link back to Joanna’s post (which is where the rules are written), you’re eligible to win a prize. Not to mention joining in some great conversation about interesting words.

*************************************************************************

I’m not sure I fully understand what this particular Booking through Thursday is about, but I’m going to give it a shot.

Every family has little things they say.  Private jokes and shared history work together to create a family’s verbal shorthand.  Using these words are a way we stay close, make memories, and connect on a level that isn’t shared with anyone outside of our little family circle.

Here is some of our verbal shorthand:

Comf in the cab –  From when my daughters went to camp this summer—it is short for ‘comfortable in the cabin’.  But now it describes being warm and cozy anywhere.

Hankerin’
  – When my husband wants pizza for dinner, he says “I’ve got a hankerin’”.  We think he’s weird.

The 3 C’s (casual, cute, comfy) –  My 10 yr old’s measure of an outfit’s worth, while we’re shopping or when she’s getting ready to go to school.  Does it have the 3 C’s?  If so, buy it (or wear it)!

“Wusty” – spoken in a baby voice when we see any golden retriever puppy (our first puppy, our first pet as a couple, was named Rusty).

“Hooked and cooked?”  Translation- Does everyone have their seatbelts on?

“Let’s go – Teeth, hair, Singulair” – My morning reminder for my kids to brush their teeth, brush their hair, and take their allergy medicine.

Does your family have it’s own verbal shorthand?  Do you feel it helps you to stay close?  I’d love to hear about it!


Happy Turkey Day to you and your family! 

11 Responses

  1. Hi, I like the way you put this – it was similar to the sentiment behind our project, that there were words we share and learn and exchange as bloggers that start to create some connections, make memories and associations, bring us a little closer together…

    “Private jokes and shared history work together to create a family’s verbal shorthand. Using these words are a way we stay close, make memories, and connect on a level that isn’t shared with anyone outside of our little family circle.”

    And I love hankerin… is it for anything he wants – or just pizza?!

    Joanna

  2. All good words. The tricky part to family shorthand like that is that when you slip and use it OUTSIDE the family, people look at you like you’re speaking in Farsi or something….

  3. When my kids were small, my sisters and I used to get together (a total of 8 kids and 3 adults). Because our get-togethers were always filled with activity, we got into the habit of only eating 2 big meals a day. A late breakfast, (because of the various ages of the kids, some got up early and some late), and a big mid-day meal.

    As a result, our kids dubbed the mid-day meal, lunner, a combination of lunch and dinner. Now, even though almost all of the kids are either in college or working, we still enjoy lunner. In fact, in December, all of us will be able to get together to throw our father a surprise 75th birthday party. I can hardly wait…………………..:)

  4. Really good words. Such words do help in connecting families forever. We got too many Hindi words between us. That is, my brothers and I!

  5. Thanks for your comments. Joanna, Hankerin’ can be for anything if he says “I have a hankerin’ for “fill in the blank” “, but if he just says hankerin’ we know he means pizza. Weird, I know!

    Deb, that has happened and we do feel silly when people say something about it. Usually it’s the kids’ friends that say, for instance, “What did your mom mean, hooked and cooked?”

    Lisa, We do that too, but we call it Linner! meaning a very early dinner.

    Guatami, that’s nice that you share that with your brother.

  6. Haha! We sometimes use lupper (from Seinfeld) for a dinner/supper combo usually on the weekend. My 5 yr old has taken to using it and thinks it’s a real word.

  7. Hmm. If your husband’s from the South, a hanerin’ is ok. If he’s from Boston, he may be weird. Thanks for participating in our little project!

  8. Brad, He’s from Scranton. Defintely weird.

  9. Scranton? See what you mean. You got me thinking … “Scranton” sounds like it should be a slang expression for something.

  10. I agree!! It’s slang for “crappy weather”. On the other hand, my husband refers to it as “God’s Country”. He loved growing up there. It is nice, during a very short window of time (late June/July) and that is when we visit. Otherwise it’s too cold/hot/wet/humid/muddy/slushy for me. I guess we are a bit spoiled here in Southern California.

  11. Fabulous post! At Thanksgiving, one of the ladies realized she forgot to bring something and cried, “Sugar Donuts!”. nobody reacted but me; seems she has all sorts of different expressions to cuss with. I think it’s great. I can’t think of any my family has – it’s amazing how many you listed. Just terrific.

Leave a Reply

