Reading Trouble

Care at Care’s Online Book Club is hosting a meme, so I thought I’d give it a go.

Reading Trouble Meme

1. Have you ever gotten into trouble for reading?

2. Has reading ever SAVED you from getting into trouble?

3. What was the first book you read that you KNEW you would get into trouble reading if caught?

Now, on the tagging part, I prefer to not list anyone specifically. Just know that if you want to play, please do and leave a comment here to I know to go read your blog! If you don’t have a blog, just leave your answers in the comments to this post.

*********************************************************************

1. Trouble, yes. I used to get in trouble regularly for reading at school. Typically I would be reading when I was supposed to be doing something else, like listening to the teacher explain a math concept. Ugh, how utterly boring to this young bookworm. I got what I deserved, though.. my 10 year old daughter is exactly like I was at her age. She hides her latest book inside her math book, so when her teacher looks up, it appears she is engrossed in her math. Smart, but sneaky.

2. Has reading a book saved me from getting in trouble? Probably. I can’t think of a particular situation, but many times as a teen/young adult I was home reading when I could have been out raising hell.

3. The first book I knew I’d be in trouble for reading if I was caught was a book called Fear of Flying by Erica Jong. Racy stuff. It was in one of my mother’s dresser drawers, beneath her undies and lingerie. I’m not sure how I came across it (why would I have been in her dresser drawers?) but I remember thinking, “I can’t believe my MOTHER is reading this!” I started it on a day when I was home sick from school and my parents were at work. I remember being “sick” the next day, too, just so I could stay home and read more of it. It’s been something like 30 years, and I’m sure she wouldn’t care at this point, but I would still feel funny telling my mother about this!

Hmm.. I think I’ll tag Valentina, Patti, Kim, Mrs. Blogoway, and Mr. Schu.

10 Responses

  1. Great! Thanks for playing.

  2. […] 1 December, 2007 by Patti Books on the Brain tagged me for the following […]

  3. Gotten into trouble for reading? Not for content (that I recall) more for constantly reading and not paying attention to what was going on around me. Once I was reading at the breakfast table, thought I was reaching for the salt and dumped milk onto a soft-boiled egg instead.

    Reading save me from trouble? Reading saved my LIFE. Words on paper were at first a distraction and then an escape hatch and then a door to my own creativity.

    Worried about getting caught reading. Hmm…When I was a kid, my mother bought me a book that was a novelization of the Hindenburg crash. Lots of spicy sex and adult situations in a tome she thought was an historical recreation.

    Great post, wonderful to come across someone so clearly enamored by the printed word…

  4. HI Cliff, thanks for playing along! I laughed at your milk on the eggs incident. It reminded me of the time I poured orange juice on my breakfast cereal, also while reading a book!

    Thanks to anyone who is reading this… Please check out Patti and Kim’s answers to the meme!

  5. I cannot recall a specific time when reading lead to trouble. Maybe times when I should have been reading a textbook but instead read something for pleasure.

    The knowledge gleaned through reading may have prevented making bad choices.🙂

    In third and fourth grade the local librarian would always check out books from the adult section to me. I am sure that some of them would have gotten me in trouble from my mom.

  6. hello!Thanks for tagging me:) This should be fun!

  7. What a fun meme! I’ll bookmark it and come back to it soon.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and for your kind words.

  8. Trouble, yeah. Mom always gets mad at me when I turn up late for dinner because I couldn’t tear myself away from the book I was reading. I used to read in the math class myself, but luckily never got caught.😉

    Saved me from trouble… Exactly the same answer as yours.🙂

    As for getting into trouble for reading a particular book, I’ve never had to worry about that. I’ve never been told what (not) to read, so I assumed I’m allowed to read anything.

    PS. It’s funny how so many of us bookworms write that Groucho Marx quote on our blogs.🙂

  9. […] got tagged by Books on the Brain, so I’m gonna give it the ol’ college […]

  10. I completed mine:
    http://crystalgable.wordpress.com/2007/12/04/about-reading/

    thanks for the tag!

Leave a Reply

