Rolling – Booking Through Thursday (on Friday)

Rolling November 29, 2007

Filed under: WordPress — –Deb @ 1:43 am
btt button

Do you get on a roll when you read, so that one book leads to the next, which leads to the next, and so on and so on?

I don’t so much mean something like reading a series from beginning to end, but, say, a string of books that all take place in Paris. Or that have anthropologists as the main character. Or were written in the same year. Something like that… Something that strings them together in your head, and yet, otherwise could be different genres, different authors…

******************************************************************************

I don’t consciously do this.  Usually after finishing a book, especially a powerful one, I like to read something vastly different.  If I really like an author or get wildly interested in the subject matter, I will seek out other books for future reading, but typically I won’t read them back to back.  I think I need to have that separation of genre, setting, time or place in order to fully appreciate what I’ve read.  If I read too many similar books in a row, they all sort of blur together in my mind into one large indistinguishable lump.  Books should stand alone, not be mentally lumped together.

That said, sometimes it happens without a conscious effort.  Last winter I went through a dysfuntional family/social services phase where I read “The Glass Castle” followed by “Like Family” followed by “Me and Emma” (which I bought for the cover, because it reminded me of my sister as a little girl).  All good books, but it was emotionally exhausting!  I was sooooo ready for something lighthearted after that Sucky Family reading fest.  And I’m sure having read them in quick succession caused me to mix up the details of these three books.

I just finished We Need to Talk About Kevin last night.  Holy crap, it was intense!  I definitely need something a bit more cheery for my next read.  Something that won’t cause me to lose sleep.

What about you.. do you get on a roll?  Or, like me, do you prefer a story to stand alone?
.

6 Responses

  1. You said it just fine — and brought in elements I didn’t.

    I really like this line:
    Books should stand alone, not be mentally lumped together.

    And yes, after reading something really powerful, whatever I read next is a let-down, so I try to pick up a beach read or something else that looks like it’ll be fun and I’ll be glad I read it, but I won’t rave about it.

    I’m glad you stopped by!

  2. I’m with you there for mostly the same reasons!

  3. I prefer books that stand alone, but sometimes I can’t help it – I’m in a “mood” for something, and the mood carries from book to book, and so I end up reading three children’s fantasies in a row, or I finish one topical nonfiction book only to find that I’m still in the mood for another.

    Other times, though, it just happens – I notice, suddenly, that I’m reading yet ANOTHER book set in Amsterdam, or another book about a struggling writer, or a nurse…something like that. Sometimes it’s even more obscure, and I might find the same author referenced two books in a row, or the same historical event referred to.

    I hit a streak like this last spring sometime, but sadly, I can’t remember what the thread was. I read three or four books in a row were all bound by some common, specific theme – something insignificant enough that it would not have been mentioned on the back cover – though they were all by different authors, some fiction, some nonfiction. It was bizarre.

  4. You do sound pretty much like me with the reading. If it happens it happens but is very rarely deliberate. Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Now I have been looking at your photos and need to go and look up Pismo Beach – looks like California to me (?)

    – Happy Belated BTT

  5. THanks for all the comments. Ennavic, we are in California, but we’re 200 miles south of Pismo. My sister lives there.

  6. Hey thanks for visiting my blog. Don’t mind me, I think that I will look around here for a bit. You gave me some great ideas for books to add to my list of “must reads”.

    Lisa R-P

Leave a Reply

