Out of Print: Booking Through Thursday

OOP December 6, 2007

Filed under: WordPress — –Deb @ 1:31 am
btt button

This week’s question is suggested by Island Editions:

Do you have a favourite book, now out of print, that you would like to see become available again? (I have several…)

**********************************************************************************

I can’t think of a favorite novel, but there is a favorite cookbook I’d like to see become available again. Better Homes and Gardens Homemade Cookies Cookbook contains many of our family’s treasured Christmas cookie recipes.. the ones we make year after year.

I received the book as a gift from my mother in the 1970’s and used it a lot, making notes in the margins about which recipes we enjoyed most, or small changes that needed to be made. When I went away to college, the cookbook was left behind, and my mother confiscated it. It is now hers, even though I can prove it’s mine by my childish signature and the date on the inside cover. She admits it ‘was’ mine, but refuses to part with it.

I’ve copied down all the beloved recipes by hand from my “mom’s” book, so I do have them at least. Last year I was able to get my hands on a used copy and I gave it to my sister for Christmas. She recognized the book right off and was happy to have all the old recipes. But I need to find another copy for myself. Maybe I should get 3 copies, one to keep and the others for my kids to take when they grow up and leave the nest.

bbb99833e7a06b3b71f91110_aa240_l.jpg

 

UPDATE – I found one on eBay and hopefully I will win the auction!

3 Responses

  1. Ahh, yes. Old cookbooks. Some of them are THE BEST and should never have been taken out of print. Good luck with the eBay copy!

  2. I do posses a few old cookbooks. I don’t know if those are out of print or not!

    rooted
    reading room

  3. My cookbook arrived!! I’m off to make gingersnaps!

Leave a Reply

