Weekend Update – From Chef Hats to Santa’s Lap



What a weekend! It was nonstop action around here.

On Friday, the Girl Scout troop descended on my house for a holiday party and sleepover. We turned my kitchen into an Italian Trattoria, complete with opera music (Russell Watson “The Voice” ) and red and white checked tablecloths. The girls donned homemade chef hats, then proceeded to whip up a batch of brownies, a green salad, garlic bread, and huge amounts of spaghetti. After pouring the sparkling cider, we all sat down to an awesome meal. I was amazed at how well these 10 year olds knew their way around the kitchen. They prepared everything with minimal supervision.

After cleaning up, the kids got into their pajamas and had their Secret Sister gift exchange. Later they watched Ratatouille and ate popcorn while the leaders (Sara and I) pumped up the air mattresses. The girls finally conked out around midnight. After a quick breakfast of cinnamon rolls and oj, the girl scouts were all picked up by 9am Saturday morning.

It took a while, but I am finally in a holiday mood. On Saturday, hubby, the girls and I hit the mall. I didn’t have a very detailed list, so my shopping was sort of haphazard. The big event was the visit to Santa. My kids are believers, pretty much (this may be the last year), and the Santa at the mall is very good. He picks up on the littlest things. For instance, he overhears me say their names, and then he uses them as if he knows them personally. My 8 yr old said, “Mom, I don’t think he’s a helper. I think he’s the real one. He knows my name!” Even my jaded 10 year old was impressed. After the obligatory photo, we did a little more shopping, and then left the mall in search of the perfect Christmas tree.

After a sunny afternoon, it started to rain lightly as we were leaving the mall. “Rain..just what you want as you traipse around looking for a tree,” my Grinchy mind thought. My plan of taking a picture at the tree lot to use on Christmas cards was looking like a soggy bust. I grumbled my displeasure to my husband as we drove to the lot near the mall, but then we turned a corner to see an enormous, brilliant, perfectly formed rainbow. Was this God’s way of telling me to put a sock in it??

It was cold (by California standards–56 degrees) and still raining lightly, so we quickly walked the lot. I wanted a 6-7 foot Noble, and they had scads of them, all beautiful. In past years, we’ve gone to 2, sometimes 3, lots before finding the right tree. This year, it couldn’t have been easier. We found a gorgeous tree, the rain stopped, we asked the man helping us to snap a picture, and we were in and out in 15 minutes.

Once we got home, hubby and I had a heated discussion about where to put the tree. Good sense won out (mine). We got the tree into the stand and put it in the room, but decided to leave the decorating for Sunday. That settled, we made dinner then snuggled up and watched The Grinch (not the classic cartoon, but the mildly creepy Jim Carey version. The kids liked it, but I read my book instead).

On Sunday, we played all the Christmas cds, everything from Elvis to Bing to Diana Krall, while decorating the tree. This is definitely the most beautiful tree we’ve ever had. It’s got a great shape, with lots of spaces for ornaments. The girls got bored halfway through, so they decided to play Santa and reindeer. L. dressed like Santa, K. dressed like Rudolph, and they recruited our neighbor to be an extra (lesser) reindeer. They gathered up some of their old toys that they no longer play with, put them in a sack, and off they went in the wagon taking toys to the 3 yr. old twins down the street. It was very cute.

Once the tree was done, I took the tree lot picture in to have cards made at the drugstore. 30 minutes later, cards in hand, I left to do some grocery shopping (so easy when I’m by myself). After shopping and dinner, I addressed 60 cards by hand while hubby and the kids set up the train around the tree.  It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

Please consider sending a Holiday card or a Thank You card to a recovering soldier. It’s important for them to know they are remembered and appreciated. My Girl Scout troop sent a stack of them. Here is the address:

Recovering American Soldier
C/o Walter Reed Army Medical Center
6900 George Ave. NW
Washington DC 20307-5001

9 Responses

  1. As I look out my window at the foot and a half of new snow we received over the weekend, I am envious. I see your adorable kids dressed as Rudolph and Santa, and then I see the beautiful pink roses in the background! My rose bush is bent in half from the weight of the snow and may not survive the winter. Envious, I tell you, just envious!
    Kim

  2. I can’t stand the Jim Carrey version – love the old cartoon!

  3. Sounds like a lovely weekend. I envy you your weather!

  4. Whew! What a lot of fun in a small space of time. And 56 degrees sounds heavenly – I think we’re hovering around 30 here, and it’s chiiiiilly.

  5. Sounds like a terrific party!

  6. Lovely. Your girls, your family, your weekend activities all sound lovely! I need lovely now that i’m in the depths of the Kevin book…

  7. Hi guys, thanks for all the kind comments. We are very fortunate here in Southern Cal. to have mild winter weather. Although at Christmas, I miss the snow I grew up with (that’s the only time I miss it!).

    KMC the party was fun, and the best part was the girls did everything. We (leaders) sort of sat back and let it happen.

    Care, We Need to Talk About Kevin is intense!! I know you read my review. Here’s another one that Trish did: http://trishsdiary.wordpress.com/2007/10/21/book-review-we-need-to-talk-about-kevin/

  8. Hello!

    I’m stopping by to let you know that I’ve set up a separate blog for the What’s in a Name? challenge. I hope you’ll be able to stop by once in while to see what contests are going on and to leave links to any reviews you write. Thanks again for joining!

    –Annie

  9. Thanks, Annie! It looks great! By the way, I am so impressed by you. It’s hard to believe you’re so young.

Leave a Reply

