Highlights: Booking Through Thursday

Highlights December 27, 2007

Filed under: WordPress — –Deb @ 1:16 am

btt button

It’s an old question, but a good one . . . What were your favorite books this year?

List as many as you like … fiction, non-fiction, mystery, romance, science-fiction, business, travel, cookbooks … whatever the category. But, really, we’re all dying to know. What books were the highlight of your reading year in 2007?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It’s hard to pick favorites. My favorite book is generally whichever one I just finished reading. I don’t keep lists of books I’ve read (although I’m thinking about starting) so I don’t have that to look back on either. So, off the top of my head, and in no particular order, my favorite books of 2007 were:

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See

The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory

Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

Veil of Roses by Laura Fitzgerald

The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri

Winterdance by Gary Paulsen

Crossing to Safety by Wallace Stegner

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

Moloka’i by Alan Brennert

We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

Which books did you enjoy most this year?

10 Responses

  1. I read Snow Flower and the Secret Fan last year…immediately after I dropped out of a master’s program in history. I loved that book because it brought history to life in a way that the master’s program didn’t. For that, it will always hold a special place in my weird heart. I’m waiting for her latest, Peony in Love, to come out in paperback.

    I liked 1000 Splendid Suns more than The Kite Runner, so I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of it.

  2. I really liked Memoirs from a Women’s Prison and Red Tent.

  3. I agree with you about Sue Grafton, although I think for me it’s just that she takes a while to put out her books so you kinda feel like you need to read the one before it again. I still like her anyways.

  4. I enjoyed the Namesake too. Snow Flower and the Secret Fan and Water for Elephants both sound well worth reading.

  5. I’ve read the first four books on your list AND Molokai within the past year and a half and enjoyed them all immensly!

  6. I am totally blanking when it comes to what books I’ve read (except for my list since creating my blog!) I would say Middlesex was one of the tops, and Garlic&Sapphires… and, I will read more Philippa Gregory! 🙂 – Care

  7. My highlights are…

    Yankee Girl

    Rules

    MVP

    Chicken Boy

    The Secrets of Ms. Snickle’s Class

    Adam Canfield of the Clash

    The Higher Power of Lucky

    Those Shoes

    Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie

    The Penderwicks

    The Arrival

  8. Two standouts were The Echo Maker by Richard Powers and After This by Alice McDermott. I should be keeping a list though like my mom does, it’s hard to remember them all:)

  9. Hi guys, thanks for all the great comments.

    Softdrink, I loved Snowflower, but it sounds like it had a really profound, life changing effect on you. It’s incredible the difference a book can make on our lives. I am also waiting for Peony in Love to be released in paperback.

    Beastmomma, Red Tent is in my TBR pile.. can’t wait to start it.

    OneLuvGirl, ditto on the Sue Grafton comment. Thanks for visiting my blog!

    CraftyGreen, I predict you will LOVE Snowflower, and Water for Elephants. They were both awesome.

    Steph, I have noticed more than once that we read a lot of the same books!!

    Care, I know what you mean about blanking.. I haven’t kept lists so had to rely on memory and what was sitting around my house, and what I’ve written about here.

    Mr Schu.. now THAT is a different list! The only book I’m even familiar with there is The Penderwicks. I will have to look into a few of those, thank you!!

    Bookbabie.. I enjoy Alice McDermott but haven’t read After This. Thanks for the recommendations!

    Here’s to great books!

  10. lisamm – I can’t tell you how much I recommend GoodReads for keeping track of the books you read. It’s so easy.

    My highlights this year were A Handmaid’s Tale, Water for Elephants, Like Water for Chocolate, and Then We Came To The End. My absolute favorite this year was A Simple Plan by Scott Smith.

    I also devoured Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight series. Definitely not heavy reading, but super duper fun.

Leave a Reply

