Brand New Year, Same Old Me

I love empty calendars, blank journals, lined paper waiting to be filled with scribbles, notes, appointments, and lists. All the possibilities of a fresh start give me hope for change.

I Like this quote “When you start using senses you’ve neglected, your reward is to see the world with completely fresh eyes”

Barbara Sher (American business owner, career counselor, author)

Fresh eyes, that’s what I want. I want to use those neglected senses. Go more places, have more experiences. I have allowed my life to become too routine, too scheduled. I need to allow for more spontaneity, more fun (even if I have to schedule it!), less “I have to..” and more “I want to..”

So, one resolution that I’m writing down in my new blank journal for the new year is to be more fun. Not just have more fun, but to BE more fun. I want to step out of myself and be silly and free spirited, unpredictable and a whole lot less boring.

As I sit here in my bathrobe, writing on my blog and watching the Rose Parade on tv, I idly say to my husband, “I’ve never seen the floats up close, in all the years I’ve lived in Southern California.” and, in typical Aquarius fashion, he says, “Let’s go! We can be up and back before the game starts.”  My first thought is, “Wait!  That’s not part of the plan.  I was going to take down the tree today and get the house cleaned up.”  Hmmm. I’ve just written about how I want to have more fun.. BE more fun.. and yet I don’t feel like jumping in the shower and getting ready to go to have a fun experience, because it’s not part of “the plan”. Apparently this spontaneous, BE FUN stuff is going to require an effort on my part, and may even require me to throw “the plan” out the window.

Ok, so much for the plan.  Here we go.  I’m going to start being more fun RIGHT NOW. I’ll write again later about our experiences and about my other resolutions (being fun isn’t the only one). So goodbye, from the FUN GIRL (or, more accurately, the girl who is trying to be FUN) and Happy New Year! I’m off to smell the roses!

4 Responses

  1. Good for you! Have a FUN time!

  2. Sounds like a great plan! Happy New Year!

  3. […] Brand New Year, Same Old Me […]

  4. Awesome – GOOD for you! Your present is in today’s mail… 🙂

Leave a Reply

