New Years Meme

I’ve been tagged by Kim at KWJ Writes for a New Year’s Meme. She has made some excellent resolutions about her writing and personal growth, which have inspired me to give some thought to how I want this next year to be. Here’s her meme.. play along if you’d like, and leave a link back to your site.

1 – Have you every really committed to a New Year’s Resolution, following through past the month of, say, March? What were the results?

2 – Have you ever made a resolution that turned out differently than what you had in mind when you made it? How was it different and was it better, or worse, than what you expected?

3 – Are you making resolutions this year? (You don’t have to say what they are if you don’t want!)

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1. Believe it or not, I actually have stuck to a resolution beyond the month of March. I’m a planner and have a tendency to be methodical in my actions. A few years ago, I resolved to pay cash for Christmas. I started putting $20 in a box in my closet each week. This came after a rather expensive holiday season full of credit card abuse use. I followed through with it and 11 months later had almost $1000. in cash. Money in a box seems so simplistic, but I know I wouldn’t have put aside $20 in a bank account weekly. Dipping into a savings account to pay for Christmas seems wrong somehow, but using cash in the closet for it’s intended purpose feels ok (I’m so weird! Money is money no matter where it comes from!) I was able to have a credit card-free Christmas that year, and it felt great. I may have to resurrect that resolution for this year.
2. Last year I resolved to read more. Reading is a solitary pursuit, obviously, but I also resolved to be more social and spend more time with friends. I hadn’t planned to, but I ended up combining those 2 seemingly incompatible resolutions by gathering up some bookish people I know and starting a book club. It has been great fun. And then I discovered blogging.. I’m definitely reading more, but a lot of that reading is online, and visiting other blogs is social (kinda!)

3. I am making resolutions this year. I want to add more joy to my life. I want to be more fun. I want to spend more quality time with my friends and family. I want to go on dates with my husband. I also want to declutter certain areas of my home, be better about meal planning, and organize my photos. I intend to become a regular at the gym and, of course, lose 10 pounds (just like last year).

I’m going to tag: everyone!

Happy 2008!

3 Responses

  1. Yes, I made resolutions and have had success on some and little to zero progress on others. My easy successes are the ‘different’ ones – like to bake a pie each month. I went way beyond this and have dreams of self-publishing my discoveries. The typical goals to ‘get-in-shape’ are usually never realized but I forgive myself and do better now than when in my 30s… and, to READ MORE! It’s been fun to have my blog as a great way to track my reading.

    Congrats on the saving money process. I hear you on the closet vs bank system. Wonder why that is so true!? And you are on a GREAT start to your spontaneous fun plan! Just keep sharing your ideas with the husband of yours – sounds like he’s fun-guy! (PS, try not to drink Budlight – go for Sierra Nevada or Sam Adams instead… Maybe my influence will help with beer appreciation?)

  2. Wow! Lisa! I’m going to try the Money in the Box thing – I think that’s a geat idea. Thanks for sharing, and for doing the meme!
    Kim

  3. I am going to try a New Year’s ‘Theme’ instead. I have just come to the conclusion that I am no good at resolutions.

Leave a Reply

