Anticipation: Booking Through Thursday

Anticipation January 3, 2008

Filed under: WordPress — –Deb @ 1:18 am

btt button

Last week we talked about the books you liked best from 2007. So this week, what with it being a new year, and all, we’re looking forward….

What new books are you looking forward to most in 2008? Something new being published this year? Something you got as a gift for the holidays? Anything in particular that you’re planning to read in 2008 that you’re looking forward to? A classic, or maybe a best-seller from 2007 that you’re waiting to appear in paperback?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Santa was good to me this year. I received several new books and a couple gift cards to Borders and amazon.com. I can hardly wait to dive into my new books. Some of my choices were heavily influenced by other book blogs that I’ve come to enjoy and rely on for suggestions.

My most anticipated books of 2008 are:

The Red Tent by Anita Diamant

The Giver by Lois Lowry (I want to pre-read it before giving it to my 10 year old)

Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri

The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan

Mrs. Bridge by Evan S. Connell

Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott

And I’m waiting for these to come out in paperback:

Peony in Love by Lisa See

Gifted by Nikita Lalwani

What books are you most anticipating this year?

10 Responses

  1. Me Talk Pretty One Day is actually a good book to take to appointments, or in other times when you will only have short periods of time to read. It is broken up into smaller stories that allow you to start and stop frequently. I actually read it while I was reading two other books.

    Enjoy your books!

  2. ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ by Khaled Hosseini
    ‘The Time Traveler’s Wife’ by Audrey Niffenegger

    Those two are wonderful books (I think they both made it onto my best of 2007 list). I’m sure you’ll enjoy them both.

    Happy new year!

  3. We have similar taste. I read The Red Tent, The Giver and A Thousand Splendid Suns last year. The Time Travelers Wife, Peony in Love and Me Talk Pretty One Day are in my TBR pile. Happy BTT!

  4. I have A Thousand Splendid Suns and The Time Traveler’s Wife on my 2008 list as well. I’m sure you’ll like The Giver but it might be too mature for a 10 year old. You might want to try Number the Stars first!

  5. Hi guys, thanks for the comments.

    RC, that sounds like the book for me! I am always somewhere, waiting for a kid to get out of school or band practice, with 10-15 minutes to kill.

    Karen, I am so excited to read those particular books. I’m hoping they will get selected for my book club so I can sit and discuss them with a group.

    Kristy, It does sound like we have similar taste in books! I will be visiting your blog soon.

    BookGal, I’ll be watching to see what you think of those two. Do you plan to read them soon? Thanks for the heads up on The Giver. My daughter read Number the Stars last year in school.

    Happy New Year and Happy BTT!!

  6. The Giver is a wonderful book. Lois Lowry has also written two companion books, The Messenger and Gathering Blue. They’re not quite as good as The Giver, but definitely worth a read.

  7. I have no idea when this book is coming out, but I can only hope it comes out in 2007 – the follow up to “Shelters of Stone” by Jean M. Auel.

  8. Do you already have Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott? I can send you mine. 🙂 As you know, I’m dedicating my 2008 to Russian Lit with Anna Karenina. And then I have Water for Elephants to get into.

  9. Hi Care, Yes, I do have it. It was a Christmas gift. Thanks, though, for offering to share!

  10. You have lots of great things on this list. I am also looking forward to Peony in Love in pb. Your soup looks wonderful.

Leave a Reply

