Book Soup

Well, the storm has begun. ABC7’s Meteorologist Dallas Raines (I’ve been in love with him for 20 years) predicts four days of rain. Tonight will be a good night to stay in, eat, and read.

There is nothing like a hearty soup and crusty bread on a rainy evening. In celebration of National Soup Month (who knew?), we had minestrone soup for dinner tonight. I made it in the crockpot, which I highly recommend to all busy parents, because you can leave the house, come back, and it seems like someone else made dinner for you (the likelihood of that happening in my house is about a gazillion to one, but it does seem like that when you first open the door to the aroma of something yummy).  So when we got home at 4:30 this afternoon, the house smelled heavenly, and the kids were walking around saying, “Mmmmmm, what’s for dinner?”

minestrone-soup.jpg

Now that we’ve eaten, and we’re all fat and happy, we’re settling in for a quiet evening. I can hear the rain coming down, and it’s a comforting sound, except for the fact that my husband isn’t home from work yet and will have to drive in it. He has a 45 mile commute, but it’s late and he’s missed rush hour, so hopefully it won’t be too bad.

The kids are in their jammies watching The Discovery Channel’s Man vs. Wild with Bear Grylls. They are huge fans. I hope to finish off Summer People by Brian Groh. I just have 50 pages left. I can’t wait to be done with it and start something else. It’s not a bad book, but it’s not the most exciting book out there, either. It’s been enjoyable but I’m ready to move on. I have to finish it for my book club meeting next weekend.

I have a stack of new books calling to me, begging to be read. Which one will be next? A Thousand Splendid Suns is jumping up and down, shouting, “Pick me! Pick me!” The Red Tent looks embarrassed to be seen with such a shameless hussy. Me Talk Pretty One Day is blatant, saying, “You know you want me” and he’s right, I do. The Time Traveler’s Wife has been patiently waiting for weeks. Her time will come. Interpreter of Maladies is new, having just arrived in his amazon.com box on my doorstep today, and is alluring for his sleek, slim look. Decisions, delicious decisions.

5 Responses

  1. “Dallas Raines” sounds like a name of a hero in some Western bodice-ripper type book! Local weather guys with cult followings? Here’s New England’s: (My hub refers to him as my boyfriend but really, it just makes us laugh) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZCaveVsJfVs

    and Soup sounds like a great idea. Looking forward to which book you pick! and how you decided?

  2. The Red Tent was one of the most powerful books I’ve ever read (and was a big hit with my book club). I also really loved The Time Traveler’s Wife and have only heard good things about A Thousand Splendid Suns. You’ve got some great books there!

  3. That sounds like a wonderful evening. I agree with Stephanie’s assessment of Red Tent; I also really enjoyed interpreter of maladies.

  4. Interpreter of Maladies won out. It was the shortest, and had the best first line.

  5. A Thousand Splendid Suns is a perfect read. Real people, unexpected plot twists, a bit of history and beautifully written prose. I received the book as a Christmas gift from my partner’s mother. After unwrapping my other gifts Christmas morning, I picked the book back up, flipped to the first page and thought to look it over — I finished reading it at 6:3O a.m. December 26th.

Leave a Reply

