Guest Blogger: 10 Year Old’s Review of The Doll People by Ann M. Martin

0786803614.jpg

The Doll People by Ann M. Martin is a great book. It is very long but it takes a short time to read, because you get sucked into it. I stayed up late reading it without my mom knowing. I finished it in two days.

The book is about 2 families of dolls, the Dolls and the Funcrafts. They are both living dolls, no really, they are dolls that are alive. They live in dollhouses. If seen alive by human eyes, the dolls would enter permanent doll state, meaning they would turn into regular dolls (not living). It was scary to think that Annabelle Doll, my favorite, was almost seen running by a human!

Aunt Sarah Doll has been missing for over 45 years. No one knows what happened to her until the secret organization SELMP investigates and finds out what happened to her. You won’t believe it. In case you’re wondering, SELMP means Society for Exploration and the Location of Missing Persons. It’s members are Annabelle Doll and Tiffany Funcraft, who team up to solve mysteries.

I enjoyed the idea of dolls being alive, especially the fragile Doll family, made of fine china. There were many exciting parts. You would like this book if you like adventure, dolls, and sneaking around, because the dolls have to do that a lot. There is a sequel called The Meanest Doll in the World that I cannot WAIT to read.

I highly recommend this book! I think you would like it if you are in 5th grade or older.

Does anybody have good books to recommend for 10 year old girls?

19 Responses

  1. This is a very good review! In fact, the book sounds so good that I reserved it and The Meanest Doll in the World at my library so that I can read them soon. ( I’m a grown up but I like to kids books, too.)

    You might like to read Diary of a Wimpy Kid – it’s about a boy but I think a girl would like it too. Also, The Invention of Hugo Cabret is a wonderful book that I just finished reading. It’s written and illustrated by Brian Selznick, who illustrated The Doll People! It’s a very thick book, but don’t be intimidated by its size – it’s a very quick read. I hope you’ll post a review if you read it! (Even if you don’t like it. Critical reviews are good too.)

  2. Thanks for the review. I have seen this book before, but haven’t yet bought it for my daughter (she is just 5 1/2 and now learning how to read). I will definately have to get this one for her once she is older.

  3. I’ve had Peter and the Starcatchers in my To Be Read pile (it’s more like a bookcase) for a couple of years now. It’s supposed to be the prequel to Peter Pan, and I’ve heard it’s really good!

  4. Great review!

  5. I am so impressed with how much you have read in 2008 already. The only thing I have had time to read is my mother’s behavior in the hopes that she will be nice to my boyfriend when he comes to visit🙂

  6. Thanks for all the comments! My little girl is becoming quite the prolific reader. Wonder where she gets that??? She’s moved on to Inkheart, a huge chunk of a book. As she was reading it tonight, she gasped, and giggled, and I asked, “What?” and she said, “This book freaks me out!” Hmmm. I feel another 10 yr old review coming on…

    Book Mama, thanks for the recommendations. I got Diary of a Wimpy Kid for L. today. I picked it up at Target and read the first 10 pages in the store. She is going to love it and I’m sure will fly through it. Trish, I have seen Peter and the Starcatchers in the store. I’ll have to check it out.

  7. This is a wonderful review and a nice addition to your blog ~ I hope there will be more reviews from “a 10 year old” since I have a 9 year old who also loves to read. So much so, that she wants to start her own book club🙂

    I’ll get “Doll People” for her this week. My daughter (and her entire class) loved “Diary of a Whimpy Kid.”

  8. Patti, please let me know what your daughter thinks of Doll People. Maybe our daughters (my younger one, too-she’s 9) could have a virtual book club!

  9. Lisa, let me know if she likes Diary of a Wimpy Kid! FYI, there is a second one coming out February 1 – Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules.

  10. The Mixed Up Files of Ms. Basil E. Frankweiler
    Almost anything by Gordon Korman.
    The Tail of Emily Windsnap

  11. BookMama, a sequel? Great!

    Persistentillusion, thanks for visiting! My 9 yr old is reading Tail of Emily Windsnap right now and has declared it to be the best book she’s ever read. I may have to get her to review it when she’s finished. Thanks for the recommendations!

  12. I have to admit, I really love children’s fiction.

  13. Book Mama, L. finished Diary of a Wimpy Kid last night. Loved it. Thanks again.

  14. A wonderful addition to your blog. It is always nice to get the perspective of children. I put together a wiki for my students and one of the categories is “Book Reviews.” They always post honest reviews that are better than most book talks.

    Many of my students love The Doll People and The Meanest Doll. I, too, have read both of them and think you’ll really enjoy the sequel.

    Here are my recommendations:

    *The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall

    *The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick

    *The Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

    *Punished by David Lubar

    *Shakespeare’s Secret by Elise Broach

    *The Secret Language of Girls

    *Rules by Cynthia Lord

    *Heartbeat by Sharon Creech

    I hope that at least one of these recommendations hooks you!🙂

    -Mr. Schu

  15. […] Guest Blogger: 10 Year Old’s Review of The Doll People by Ann M. Martin « Books on the Brain   […]

  16. I am a 5th grade teacher and many of my students have loved So B It by Sarah Weeks. (I also loved it!) The Hatchet series by Gary Paulsen is also quite popular in my room. Two other can’t miss books are Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie and Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes.

    I hope you enjoy them. Happy Reading!

  17. […] Rating: 5 Balance of Opinion: Books on the Brain (guest review by 10-year-old) […]

  18. […] Books on the Brain (guest review by 10-year-old) […]

  19. […] Books on the Brain (guest review by 10-year-old) […]

Leave a Reply

