Introductions: Booking Through Thursday


May I Introduce…. January 10, 2008

Filed under: WordPress — –Deb @ 1:05 am 

btt button

  1. How did you come across your favorite author(s)? Recommended by a friend? Stumbled across at a bookstore? A book given to you as a gift?
  2. Was it love at first sight? Or did the love affair evolve over a long acquaintance?


I don’t have one favorite author.  I have favorite books, but even then I haven’t been compelled to run out and read everything those authors have written.  Favorite books have come to me in a myriad of ways, but most often from recommendations from friends and family.  
 
My mother gave me her Louisa May Alcott collection to read when I was a child.  I was hooked.  Later, there was the former co-worker who turned me on to Sue Grafton’s alphabet mysteries.  There was the ex-boyfriend who was a huge Dean Koontz fan.  And there’s Oprah and her love of Maya Angelou. Well, Oprah’s not a personal friend (I wish), but she does visit my house via the television on a regular basis.  I also read reviews at amazon.com and bookmovement.com for inspiration and have discovered books that way. 
 
A beautiful, interesting cover sometimes translates into a beautiful, interesting read, but not always.  I have been dazzled by covers and displays in bookstores many times, only to be disappointed (What?  You can’t judge a book by it’s cover?  Shocking!).  
 
I’ve found some new favorites on the many book blogs I visit, too. Some of these book bloggers read so much, I don’t know when they have time to sleep or wash their hair. They must be speed readers!  
 
For me, the most reliable path to a favorite book, and consequently a favorite author, tends to be the passionate, personal recommendation. There’s nothing better than a recommendation from a person who adores the book they’ve just read and wants to spread the word.  
 
 

 

15 Responses

  1. I’m impressed with the amount some bloggers read too. I don’t think I can read that fast. Thanks for the blog visit.

  2. I’m glad I’m not alone on the number of books some people read. I love reading, but I really need to come up for air sometimes. LOL. I don’t have one favorite author, but Little Women is the book that got me hooked on reading.

  3. Yay, another Louisa May Alcott fan!

    I am planning on reading “March” for one of my reading challenges – I can’t wait, I hope I won’t be disappointed …

  4. I know am not one of the speed reader, but I do know friends who really read fast. And I wish I could too🙂

    I have read few Dean Koontz’s books but I have not been keeping up with it. I need to soon🙂

    Happy BTTs – I hope you’ve a good days/weekend ahead!

  5. Chris and Kristy, no kidding. The idea of reading constantly sort of appeals to me, but when you’ve got kids and responsibilities, who can do that??

    Bridget, I keep forgetting about March when I shop, but that is one I am definitely interested in reading this year.

    Julia, I haven’t read a Dean Koontz book in years, but at one time, I would fly through them. They are mostly set in Southern California, which is fun for me since that is where I live.

  6. Ah, yes. I do also wonder how others manage to read so much in such little time.

    I’m guessing your mother is an avid reader herself to be passing on wonderful books to you. Louisa May Alcott… I have yet to read her books. Could you recommend one of her books for first time readers?

  7. Hi orchidus, My mom is an avid reader. In fact she’s in my book club, too.

    Louisa May Alcott wrote the wonderful classic, Little Women. I started with that, then moved on to Little Men, Jo’s Boys, An Old Fashioned Girl, and another one I can’t remember (I do remember that there were five Alcott books, all with burgundy and gold spines) Her books are a treasure/

  8. That’s very cool!

    Thank you for the recommendations and your visit earlier. I will be happy to check these out! :]

  9. I love the Little Women and Little Men! Too much!

  10. Hi!

    I don’t have a favorite book or author. When I was young Judy Blume books got me into reading.

    The only author I read consistently is Andrew Greeley. A close friend got me reading his Irish series more than 10 years ago (Irish Mist, Irish Lace…). We would be so excited when a new book came out! My friend passed away last summer and the latest book came out this fall. I read it and loved it so much – not just because of these characters I’m invested in, but because it brought up sweet memories of my friend every time I picked up the book!

    Have a good day!
    Sam

  11. What’s interesting is that now I primarily read science fiction/fantasy. When I was younger, however, I totally shunned it as stupid.

    Now I’m convinced it is some of the best and most relevant writing out there.

    Pre-Sci Fi/F: Anne of Green Gables, The Little House series, American Girls, Nancy Drew, anything by Gordon Korman, Goosebumps, Sideways Stories by Wayside School, Encyclopedia Brown, Clan of the Cave Bear

    The I read Ender’s Game and haven’t looked back since.

  12. I am always floored when I read posts of bloggers who bring home some thirty-five books from the library at a time! I never manage more than seven or ten. And it takes me a month to get through them all. (If it looks like I read a lot to you, that’s because on days I haven’t just finished a new book, I post about a book I read in the past- years ago, often.)

  13. Passionate recommendations are my favorite way to discover new books as well. But since I love going to Borders, I’ll browse the new releases and their sale books and see if anything appeals to me. That’s how I discovered Philippa Gregory.

  14. I don’t usually follow an author, either. I intend to but am easily distracted and like the randomness of how I find books to read.

    I did read all the Janet Evanovich’s series on year. And I devoured Agatha Christy as a kid once I decided I was too smart for kids books – ha! I think I was in sixth grade.

    Now, I realize I’m woefully underread – when compared to all these bloggers! wow! I still have somewhere a list published prob 20 years ago of books that college kids should read BEFORE they go to college. I’ve not attempted half of it. (this would make a good post, yes? – I’ll have to see if I can find it.)

    This was a great post! 🙂

  15. I just realized that I really didn’t answer any of your original questions here… One fave author is Tracy Kidder and I clearly remember reading a review of his Soul of a New Machine and have followed him ever since. Mountains Beyond Mountains is terrific…

Leave a Reply

