Guest Blogger: 10 Year Old’s Review of Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney

21mytgj3nxl_aa115_.jpgHave you ever thought about keeping a diary?  Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney is a really great book.  On the inside, the book looks as if it’s someone’s real writing in a diary or a journal, like they wrote the book with a pen or pencil.  There are illustrations that look like doodles and they are really cool.

Greg is a middle school student, and he’s not in the popular crowd.  He plays a lot of video games and has a friend in the neighborhood that’s kind of a dork.  His mom suggests that he keep a diary.  He insists that it’s a journal, NOT a diary, because diaries are for girls.  Greg has a big brother, Rodrick, who drives him nuts.  Rodrick is in a band called Loaded Diaper, but spelled Loded Diper.  Rodrick is not very smart.  Rodrick plays pranks on Greg.  Greg writes about everything from school to snow.  He and his friend also make funny comic strips.

I liked this book for it’s humor and goofiness.  Boys or girls would like this book because it’s LOL funny.  There is a sequel coming out on February 1st, so if you like this one, you’ll want to get the next one, too.

I would like to thank Book Mama for telling my mom about this book. I loved it!

6 Responses

  1. Thank you for sharing this book. I will get this for my 7th grader to read. He has been enjoying Hank Zipzer books by Henry Winkler. We are always looking for new authors.

    Shanna

  2. Guest Blogger: 10 Year Old’s Review of Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney
    I liked this good book .

  3. Diary of a Wimpy Kid has its own blog at http://www.gregheffley.blogspot.com/. You may already know this but the book started off online at http://www.funbrain.com/journal/Journal.html?ThisJournalDay=1&ThisPage=1. I believe the entire text is avaliable on the website.

    I have this book in my classroom and will do a booktalk tomorrow. Thanks!

  4. I’m glad you liked this book! I can give you more recommendations if you’d like.🙂

    I got the two Doll books at the library and am going to read them this week. I’ll comment here and let you know how I like them.

  5. When I worked at the Scholastic Book Fair at my daughter’s school this was the most popular book! It sold out and many more people put their names on a waiting list. I had never heard of it and enjoyed learning more about it from your review.

  6. […] 10 year old guest blogger at Books on the Brain ” On the inside, the book looks as if it’s someone’s real writing in a diary or a […]

Leave a Reply

