Cravings for Chocolate and Books

Last night I had such a craving for chocolate. It was an out of control, GOTTA HAVE IT craving. B. worked late and wasn’t home or I would have sent him to Dairy Queen. The kids were already in bed so I couldn’t go myself. I went through my pantry, hoping for a stray leftover Christmas cookie, or one of those chocolate covered granola bars, anything! But all I could find was a can of chocolate fudge frosting. I came dangerously close to whipping it open and eating half of it. After a mental tug-of-war, and some quick calculations of how many hours I’d have to spend on the treadmill to work off oh, 900 calories or so, I went to bed (patting myself on the back), but it was a really close call!! When none of your clothes fit, the last thing you need is half a can of fudge frosting. In the harsh light of day, it occurs to me I really should throw it in the trash. (Ha, like that will happen!)

A couple of days ago I finished Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri, which won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 2000. I’ll probably write a review later today. I’m still thinking it over and deciding how much I liked it. Sometimes it takes me a few days to let it settle in my brain, if that makes sense. My kids are home sick today (which may explain some of the moodiness of the last few days) so in between waiting on them and doing extra laundry, I might write a review.

I started The Girls by Lori Lansens Sunday night, and it’s not what I expected. It’s about twin sisters conjoined at the head; interesting characters but so far the book is rather slow moving. Or maybe it’s just me. I’m trying to get into it.

My book club is reading The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler for our February discussion. I haven’t picked it up yet but need to start it soon. Masterpiece Theater on PBS is having a series of Jane Austen movies on Sundays. It began last weekend with “Persuasion”. See the schedule HERE.

I haven’t read any Jane Austen, ever, nor have I seen any of the movies. I’m not sure how I got through school without reading any Jane Austen, but somehow I did. For that reason, I worried that I might not be able to really appreciate our book club choice, but I’ve been assured by another book clubber (and huge Austen fan) that I don’t need to be familiar with her work to enjoy this book. I’ve been told that once I start reading Austen, I won’t want to stop. Is she really that addicting? Will I crave Austen books the way I do chocolate?

Well, I’m being summoned by the sickies. At times it feels like I work here rather than live here! Any other moms ever feel that way?

18 Responses

  1. Frosting is the bomb. Fudge frosting would be impossible to resist.

  2. As a Jane Austen fan who has read The Jane Austen Book Club, I think you will still enjoy the book club book…but you would probably have more appreciation for the connections between the book club book and Austen’s books if you had read Austen first. However, maybe the book club book will inspire you to read Jane Austen๐Ÿ™‚. I’ve read all of her books, but my absolute favorite is Pride and Prejudice. I re-read it every year, and try to watch the 1995 BBC mini-series every other year.

    I am a major chocolate addict, and I can see the parallels of a chocolate addiction to an Austen addiction.

    Happy reading!

  3. must have been something in the air…i was craving chocolate last night, too! i wasn’t as strong as you – broke down and had a chocolate snack pack pudding. on the upside…it’s one of our sugar free diet ones so not so horrible! next time you need a fix c’mon down and i’ll hook you up! ha ha!

    sorry to hear the girls are sick! i’m sure you’ll be pooped being their beck and call girl today! hang in there & hope they’re feeling better soon.

    curious to see how you like jane austen. the jane austen book club is on my list – although i am just starting snowflower and the secret fan for our book club’s selection.

    have a good day!
    sam

  4. Okay — kudos for avoiding the frosting. When I have a chocolate craving, I’ve been known to dive into a bag of chocolate chips. It’s not pretty, but sometimes you just have to do it.

    I’m so jealous that you’re discovering Jane Austen! You will find them addicting. I’ve read most of them several times; Persuasion is my all-time favorite, even supplanting Jane Eyre, which held the top spot for years. Looking forward to your posts about all the Austen books.

  5. I’ve never read any Jane Austen either and the only movie of hers that I liked was Emma. That being said, I did go see the movie The Jane Austen Book Club and was surprised that I actually really enjoyed it. I left the theatre wanting to read the books because the characters made them seem like fun. I’m sure you’ll enjoy the book!

  6. Oh, you’ve never seen Sense and Sensibility (with Emma Thompson) or Pride and Prejudice (either the BBC version with Colin Firth or the newer Keira Knightly one) – those are some of my favorite movies!! I don’t remember the last time I picked up an Austen book, but it’s all good!

  7. Thanks for the nice words of encourgement on my new blog. I am still working on the URL from flickr. Doesn’t seem to work properly.

    I enjoyed your pictures and enjoyed reading your blog today. I didn’t have a chance to work on mine.

    Until we meet again…

  8. Not a big Austen fan. Once again, I seem to be in the minority (although I love chocolate…I’ll confess to a Starbucks run for a java chip frappucino to satisy today’s craving, because our three story office building full of women seemed to be out of chocolate…I’m still not sure how that can be).
    Anyhoosie…I enjoyed the Jane Austen Book Club. Not great, but not totally sucky, either. I seem to remember the Jane Austen part being secondary to the stories of the book club members.

  9. o dear, you are making me hungry for chocolate. it’s my one food vice. I haven’t read any Jane Austen either, I probably should.

  10. ok so I am new at this, but I think I figured out how to link to my blog. Did this work?

  11. Who could sneak through school without reading Austen? As an English teacher I get to read her every year–love that Pride and Prejudice! The BBC version of the movie is good too.

  12. I read The Girls when it first was published and really, really liked it. I’ve seen comments such as yours though since then, so it seems that not everyone is a fan. I don’t even remember exactly what I liked about it, other than really enjoying the voices of the sisters. I think (and hope!) it will get better if you keep reading.

  13. Hope your ladies are on the mend! My husband & I watched Persuasion on PBS Sunday night. It was gooood. I’m looking forward to the next 5 installments. And personally, I don’t think it’s just a coincidence that all this Jane Austen is leading up to that biggest day o’ romance either. BRING IT ON!

    PS: Hope you’re enjoying your first Austen. You always remember your first.๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. I love Jane Austin. I have read all of her books and watch the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice whenever I am stressed…or sad…or scrapbooking…or just because. ๐Ÿ™‚ In fact, my first blog post ever was on how much I love Pride and Prejudice. Hope you enjoy the book club. I haven’t read that yet.

    Thanks for the comment on my blog. My nephew also seems to survive on air, and my daughter isn’t a huge eater either, but my son just cannot be filled up! Ah, the joys.

  15. Would you like Garden Spells? I’d be happy to send it to you. Email me your address if you’re interested. I’m fizzybeverage at gmail dot com.

  16. I read, and absolutely ADORED The Girls. It’s one of those books that no one seems to have ever heard of. I thought it was amazing. But I was gripped from the opening line… “I have never looked into my sisters eyes. I have never bathed alone. I have never stood in the grass at night and raised my arms to the beguiling moon…”

    I came by it on accident and it reminded me of why I read. Because there are books like this out there.

  17. oh, Toryssa! What a great comment! I love the books that come from nowhere/accident: books that choose the reader, right?

  18. I just interviewed Lisa See! You can read it here:

    http://www.gather.com/viewArticle.jsp?articleId=281474977326087

    By the way, if you liked ‘interpreter of maladies’ you must read Lahiri’s new book “Unaccustomed Earth”. After writing her novel, “The Namesake”, she decided to go back to short stories, which I think represent her best writing.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

