Let’s Review: Booking Through Thursday


Let’s Review… January 17, 2008

Filed under: WordPress — –Deb @ 1:29 am 

btt button

This week’s question is suggested by Puss Reboots:

How much do reviews (good and bad) affect your choice of reading? If you see a bad review of a book you wanted to read, do you still read it? If you see a good review of a book you’re sure you won’t like, do you change your mind and give the book a try?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ 

I’m embarrassed to admit that I am very easily swayed by book reviews. Bad reviews have kept me away from books I wanted to read.  Good reviews have caused me to give a second look to books I never thought I’d want to read.

But I do try to consider the source of the review.  Is it coming from a book blog that I like, read frequently, and often agree with?  Is it coming from a friend whose opinion I respect, or someone in my book club?  If it’s an online review on a site like Borders or amazon.com, is the review well thought out rather than reactionary?   

If the reviewer raves about a book I’ve read and really disliked, I have to question their judgement.  I probably wouldn’t put much weight on any review they gave after that!   

How about you?  How much do reviews affect your reading? 

 

17 Responses

  1. I rarely read reviews, though when I do, I keep an open mind about the book. Sometimes popular opinion isn’t the same as mine, and I do like going against the flow hehe. Happy BTT.🙂

    P.S. the link on my name won’t go to my entry which is here.🙂

  2. I prefer reading reviews after reading the book. Not much of a chance to be swayed by them that way.😉 But yes, when it comes to reading a new author, I will look around for suggestions.

    Happy BTT.🙂

  3. Like Kat, I try to be open minded about them because each person reading preferences varies. But most important is, the blurb must be interesting enough for me to pick up the book!
    Happy BTT!

  4. I think I agree with you about if many people raves about a book, that would question me their judgment and I may give the book a try and see what the raves are about.

    Happy BTT, I hope you have a good day🙂

  5. My answer is similar. Reviews do have influence, but it depends on who is doing them and what exactly they liked or disliked about the book.

  6. I tend to be a bit cantankerous and go the opposite way to a review. if the review is great I won’t read it straight away……..I really tend to stick to books in my chosen genre and I have actually been known to spite myself by not reading something [that I later loved] because everyone else is talking about it and I like to be different!!!!!!
    Love your blog.

  7. I’m with you… to me it depends on the reviewer and the experience I’ve had with them in the past. If someone loves a book I hated, it does tend to make you a little more wary about another book they love.

    I’m not as swayed by poor reviews, though, unless there are some really good reasons.. not just.. “boy, I hated that book.”

  8. I like to read reviews but I have learned that many people have different views and tastes.

  9. I’d be more swayed by someone I know as well.

  10. I too am usually only swayed if the reviewer is someone I trust.
    I do like to read reviews, however, just to see others viewpoints.

  11. I do not like detailed reviews. Abstract ones, I do read. I write it that way too..

  12. I usually am not swayed too much by bad reviews. But I think good reviews will sway me more. Especially if it’s from a blogging friend, or someone that has posted reviews before that I agree with.

    Happy Thursday!!

  13. Well I am not really influenced by reviews good or bad when I have something already in mind. But if it’s about something I don’t know, then I’ll follow the good reviews;o)

  14. I’m more influenced by the good if someone recommends something I usually try it!

  15. I love hearing from friends (and now certain select blogsites) about their most recent favorite book ~ and if I like the book then I’m more apt to go with another of their recommendations. One person I’m NOT swayed by is Oprah ~ I tried a couple of her book club picks and didn’t like them.

  16. I answered the question on my blog.

    Though to answer the question here, I’m definitely swayed by people’s opinions. I’ll stick with a book I don’t like longer if someone told me they liked it (Son of a Witch, for example), and I’ll approach a book with a certain bias if I know someone didn’t like it.

  17. If it’s someone with similar taste in books then I am definitely influenced by what they have to say. As far as newspapers and magazines go, if they recommend a book I’ll often go on-line and read an excerpt to see if I like it.

Leave a Reply

