Free Rice (or Unrecompensed Pilaf)

freericelogo.gif 

Did you know the word lithic means stone, apiary means bee house, or riposte means retort?  Yeah, me neither.. not until I started playing Free Rice. 

Free Rice is a game where for each word you get right, they donate 20 grains of rice through the United Nations to help end world hunger.   Where else can you help feed the hungry while building your vocabulary and consequently improving your Scrabble abilities?  

The highest vocab level that can be reached is 50, but that may only be attainable by cheaters or someone who is a walking dictionary.  My highest score after playing for an hour was 43, but then I fell back down after a couple really tough words.  Yes I did lose a whole hour on Free Rice, but what the heck, it’s for a worthy cause.  Check it out! 

2 Responses

  1. I love this site! My husband and I both visit it periodically. I think subconsciously we are trying to vamp our Scrabble vocab against each other, but I just enjoyed seeing how many words I could guess correctly.

  2. Very fun! I’m sure I’ll be addicted.

Leave a Reply

