Page 123 Meme

Fighting Windmills tagged me on Sunday with this book meme.  

Rules:

1. Pick up the nearest book (of at least 123 pages).

2. Open the book to page 123.

3. Find the fifth sentence.

4. Post the next three sentences.

5. Tag five people.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

About 8 feet away from my keyboard is a stack of unread books, and the one on top happens to be bird by bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life by Anne Lamott, which was a Christmas gift from a friend and one I can’t wait to read.  The section on page 123 discusses jealousy of writers who are experiencing more success than you:

You are going to feel awful beyond words.  You are going to have a number of days in a row where you hate everyone and don’t believe in anything.  If you do know the author whose turn it is, he or she will inevitably say that it will be your turn next, which is what the bride always says to you at each successive wedding, while you grow older and more decayed.  It can wreak just the tiniest bit of havoc with your self-esteem to find that you are hoping for small bad things to happen to this friend-for, say, her head to blow up.

Now, I ask you, who at one time hasn’t wished for their successful friend’s head to blow up??  

I’m going to tag some people who I know are readers.   Crystal at Mrs. Blogoway, Trish at Hey, Lady!, Karen at Planet Books, Thea at the little bird, and Lilli at bookbabie.

 

8 Responses

  1. ROFL! Hahahahahahehehehehe!! Oh, I’ve secretly wished for my successful friend’s head to blow up as recently as a few months ago!! I’m happy for her now, of course.😉

  2. How funny! I just did this meme before I stopped by to see how YOU were doing!

  3. Too funny! Thanks for participating. 😛

  4. Oh oh, I’ve been tagged twice for this one, I better get going! I love Anne Lamott, I’m not sure I’d want to live next door to her, but she’s a hoot:)

  5. I’m glad you tagged me, I’ve been running out of things to write about lately…

    My meme is done if you want to take a peek.

  6. Miss Spitfire: Reaching Helen Keller by Sarah Miller

    She feels the mug inside and out. “Only a mug. No milk.” I spell m-u-g over and over into her free hand.

  7. Clearly, I’ll need to rig my surroundings before posting this meme. The books nearest me currently are: a) a phone book, b) a bicentennial edition of our local newspaper, which almost certainly has no page 123, and c) a biology textbook, currently in use as a booster seat for my husband’s monitor.

    Some day, we’ll get my desk set up and then there will be books galore!

  8. […] 123 Meme February 13, 2008 — kwjwrites Page 123 Meme Okay – I stole this from Lisa, so I can’t tag her.  But this one is […]

Leave a Reply

