Peony in Love is out in Paperback!

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See was my book club’s first selection when we started out a year ago.  Our group loved this book so much and we’ve all been anxiously awaiting the release of Peony in Love in paperback.  Well, the wait is over.  It came out yesterday!  It’s weird, though.  Part of me is nervous to read it because I dearly loved Snow Flower.  What if I don’t love Peony as well?  Will my adoration of Lisa See be a thing of the past?  Anyone else out there this neurotic about their books?

Lisa See is going to be holding a book talk, Q & A, and signing this month at a bookstore near me.  I have never been to a book signing event like this, so I’m not sure what to expect.  I called the store to see if they could give me some insight, and the clerk said, “I think she’s pretty popular.  It might be crowded.”  Ya think???

I’ve invited my book club to join me and I plan to get there early to score a few seats. My kids will have to come with me (Dad’s working late) but they love bookstores almost as much as I do, so they will be content to hang out in the children’s area (hmmm… might be an expensive evening).  I’m so excited!  I feel like a groupie!  Do authors have groupies?

If you’ve been to a book signing before, I’d love to hear about it.  Is it weird to get a paperback signed?  Should I splurge on the hardcover?

cover.gif

   

8 Responses

  1. I received an ARC of this book awhile ago and I really liked it. BUT…it did not live up to SNOW FLOWER for me (or my sister or friend.) You are so lucky to be able to go to a book signing. I’ve never been to one, but I would love to meet Ms. See. I want to hear all about it!!!

  2. You have me intrigued by Lisa See’s books and after reading your post, I’ve decided to get a copy of :Snowflower and the Secret Fan’. It sounds like a wonderful story and I can’t wait to start it. I hope you enjoy the book signing! I’ve never been to one before. I’m sure she wouldn’t mind signing your paperback copy. Let us know how it went!

    Lisa

  3. I think it is fine to get the paperback signed. These events are pretty fun and authors get very excited to see people come out and share what they loved about the writing.

  4. I totally get it – felt that way about A Thousand Splendid Suns after reading The Kite Runner – I was afraid to spoil my feelings (and high expectations) of the author. Didn’t disappoint though.

    Hope you enjoy the book as much as her first.

  5. My mom read both Lisa See and raved about each one, so hopefully you’ll feel the same way! BTW, the other commenter above, Tammy, is one of my personal buddies – I am so glad she found your blog!

  6. I went to a book expo last year, where a bunch of different authors were speaking (mostly in panels). I had books signed by two different authors. Elizabeth Gilbert…I had just given away eat pray love, so I bought another one of her books…it was a paperback, and she laughed and smiled when she saw it…I think she was pleased to see something other than “the book” that everyone else had. The other author was Marissa de los Santos, and I took my paperback copy of her book Love Walked In. I think she was tickled pink to just get some attention, because one of her fellow panelists stole the show.
    Anyways…both authors were incredibly gracious and happy to be signing…I don’t think they care what the book is and whether it’s hard cover or not, as long as they wrote it. 🙂
    I had totally forgotten Peony in Love was out in paperback yesterday…I’ve been looking forward to it, yet with the same reservations as you. We’ll have to compare notes. I loved Snow Flower, so I’m jealous you get to go to her signing!
    Oh, and Lisa See’s mom, Carolyn See, was at the book expo. I’ve never read any of her books, but she cracked the audience up when she mentioned her daughter, and said, you may have heard of her.
    Okay, I’ll stop with the novel now. 🙂

  7. How about I read Peony in Love FIRST and then read the other just to see if the adoration works in reverse? (did that make any sense at all?!) I think it would be cool to go to a book signing – have a great time!

  8. Good news! I’ve been waiting for this as well, though I am also nervous that I won’t like it as much as Snow Flower. I have attended a handful of readings/sigings. Lots of times I don’t even stay for the signing b/c I hate to wait in line. I really like seeing the authors and hearing them speak. It makes me feel much more connected to them.

Leave a Reply

