Where Have You Been?

Several of my faithful readers have asked the question, ‘Where have you been?’  First, thank you for caring!  And thank you for coming back, even when there’s been almost no activity here for the past week.  I’m surprised that anyone notices what goes on (or, more accurately, doesn’t go on) here at my little blog.

 My stepdad had a quadruple bypass last Friday.  It was quite sudden and unexpected.  Thanks to the miracle of modern medicine, he is doing great. He came home yesterday and had his first good nights sleep in a week, without the air conditioning blasting on him, and with no one bugging him to take his blood pressure or give him medicine in the middle of the night.

Waiting around in hospitals is not fun, but it does provide ample time for reading.  I’m almost done with The Time Traveler’s Wife, my book club read this month.  I didn’t think I liked it at first, but now with just 100 pages to go, it is consuming me and I can hardly think of anything else.  I understand the movie is coming out in November, with Eric Bana as Henry DeTamble. Great casting choice, don’t ya think?  Eric Bana is currently in theaters playing Henry VIII in The Other Boleyn Girl.  My book club buddies and I will be seeing that next weekend.  How did this one actor end up in the movie version of two of my favorite books?
 vm_sy140_sx100_.jpg  
Seems everything I read lately is being turned into a movie.  My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult was picked up by NewLine Cinema.  The Fanning sisters were set to play Anna and Kate, but they have since backed out because Dakota didn’t want to shave her head.  Can’t say as I blame her..   Abigail Breslin (Little Miss Sunshine) has replaced the younger Fanning as Anna, and Sofia Vassilieva is in talks to play Kate. Maybe Eric Bana can play the dad! (Actually, I heard Alec Baldwin has been cast in the movie. Interesting..)
breslincasting_l.jpg
What books would you like to see made into movies? 

8 Responses

  1. Phew! I’m glad everything is okay now. When your posts were sporadic, and then you didn’t even do BTT, I was starting to get worried. Lucky for you I live too far away to stalk you.🙂

  2. I had a tough time getting into The Time Traveler’s Wife too, and I actually gave up on it and put it back on my TBR pile. Perhaps I should give it another go! Sorry to hear of your stepdad’s illness, but so glad the surgery went well:)

  3. Glad to hear from you. I loved The Time Traveler’s Wife, and look forward to the film. I think My Sister’s Keeper should be a good film, prob. most for people who have not read it as there will be that element of suspense.

  4. The Time Traveler’s Wife can be a bit confusing at first, but I ended up enjoying it so much. It is definitely one of those books that have stuck with me. I have to say, I’m not really a big Eric Bana fan, so we will see how he will do in the movies. My book club is going out to see The Other Boleyn Girl mid-March too! So much fun!

  5. Glad to hear your father is doing okay. I loved Time Traveler’s Wife, didn’t know it was going to be made into a film, now I can’t wait to see it!

  6. I am glad that your stepdad is feeling better. Good to have you back in the blogging world.

  7. any Jack Reacher novel by Lee Child would be a great movie

  8. Hi, thanks for all the kind comments and emails about my dad. He continues to improve and do well. Tara, you’re right about My Sister’s Keeper. If you’ve read the book, the surprise twist is ruined for you. I bet a lot of readers will go anyway though (I would). Bookbabie, I think TTTW is definitely worth dusting off and trying again, although the very end annoyed me. But it fit with the rest of it, so.. it was really good.

Leave a Reply

