The End: Booking Through Thursday


The End March 20, 2008

Filed under: WordPress — –Deb @ 1:55 am 

btt button

You’ve just reached the end of a book . . . what do you do now? Savor and muse over the book? Dive right into the next one? Go take the dog for a walk, the kids to the park, before even thinking about the next book you’re going to read? What?

(Obviously, there can be more than one answer, here–a book with a cliff-hanger is going to engender different reactions than a serene, stand-alone, but you get the idea!)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Well, usually when I finish a book, I reach over and shut out the light, snuggle in next to my snoring husband, and go to sleep.  I do much of my reading at night after my kids are in bed, and if I’m pretty close to the end of a book, I’ll stay up to finish it. 

If I was reading something really intense, like THIS ONE, or thought provoking, like THIS ONE, or something beautifully written, like THIS ONE, or utterly unique, like THIS ONE, it might be a few days before I start another book, and I usually pick something entirely different.  I have a colossal “to be read” stack at the moment, so I have all this self-imposed pressure to get on with the next book, but sometimes I need to just sit with a book for awhile and let it sink in before moving on.  If it was a light, fun, easily forgettable read, I’ll start another one the very next day. 

What do you do when you’ve reached the end of a book? 

 

11 Responses

  1. I start another as soon as I finish one after blogging about the book. I write reviews right away!

    Booking upto ending

  2. That’s interesting that you let books “sink in”. I’m the opposite … I dive right in the next one!

    I played too🙂

  3. I am usually realling more than one book at a time, so another gets added into the rotation.

  4. I just posted my answer! Check it out🙂

  5. Haha!! I don’t think Dave’s going to let me read in bed while he’s trying to sleep…that will definitely be something we’ll need to figure out.

    Doesn’t the TBR book stack just scream your name every time you walk past? It’s like a bunch of little kids vying for your attention… *sigh* I will give them the love and attention they deserve.

  6. I think the interesting thing for me in your post is that phrase ‘self-imposed pressure’ because you’re right, so often the pressure to get on and read another is a self-imposition, especially in my case as I’m now no longer teaching and therefore don’t have to prepare for a class. I shall think about that.

  7. I love that feeling of anticipation when you know that you have another great book to read when you finish the one you’re on….. I dive right in if I have time.

    P.S. I tagged you on my site for a cool book meme. I hope you haven’t already done it….

  8. Hey Crystal, that’s hysterical.. I started that meme back in January!! It’s so weird how these things fly around the blog world. Check it out:
    https://lisamm.wordpress.com/2008/01/29/travel-reading-meme/

    Thanks, everyone, for the great comments.

  9. Even though I’m participating in all those challenges, I never think I HAVE to complete them all. I would like to, of course, but I’m careful not to let my hobby feel like work.😉

  10. I read most often at night, like you. But the next book is always ready on my bedside table. As a former journalist, I lived with deadlines all my working life, so now I allow myself to be a slowcoach when it comes to reading!

  11. Hi
    you have a nice work here friend com visite me on my site and forums

Leave a Reply

