Booking Through Thursday: Writing Challenge


Here’s today’s Booking Through Thursday challenge.

Pick up the nearest book. (I’m sure you must have one nearby.)
Turn to page 123.
What is the first sentence on the page?
The last sentence on the page?
Now . . . connect them together….
(And no, you may not transcribe the entire page of the book–that’s cheating!)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Oh, good. An easy one. My mind is on overload and if BTT were too thought provoking today I would have to skip it.

My first and last sentences from page 123 come from the book The Knitting Circle by Ann Hood. This is a book I started last week, got to page 19 and was sobbing like a moron, soaking my t-shirt in tears. It’s about how a mother copes the year after her 5 year old daughter suddenly dies. My own daughter is having some serious medical issues right now, so the grief, pain, and heartache of the mother was a bit too real for me; too raw, too scary. Reading it made my mind travel down some terrifying mental paths. I couldn’t hang, so I closed the book and will try it again some other time (maybe). But since it’s sitting here, I’ll use it for BTT. Here goes:

“We’ve got champagne and gorgeous hors d’oeuvres and tenderloin for dinner.” She walked in and everything, eight months later, was exactly the same.

Those two sentences don’t go together at all, but whatever.. I’m just following directions, and I’m grateful this didn’t take any real effort.

UPDATE*******************************************************************************************

OOOPS.   I do believe I did this all wrong.  It’s a writing challenge.  You’re supposed to actually write something in between the first and last sentences on the page to connect them.  How did I not get that??  Oh, yeah.. my brain is full.  That’s right.  Anyway, I made an effort, so here goes.  Please don’t laugh.  I am well aware that I’m not a writer!!

“We’ve got champagne and gorgeous hors d’oeuvres and tenderloin for dinner,” said Rene as he kissed me on both cheeks, European style.  I attempted a smile, hoped it was convincing, and made my way into the kitchen, finding Rene’s sister, Grace, with an armful of appetizers.  “Can I help?” I asked, but she waved me away and kindly said, “Grab a drink and find me out back.”  She knows I hate this. 

If only I had an appetite. I’ve lost 18 pounds in 8 months, although I don’t recommend the diet plan.  What would we call it.. the Husband Caught Cheating Diet?  The Brad’s An Asshole Diet?  The Lose Your Marriage/Lose the Weight Diet?  

If Rene wasn’t so important to me, I’d be home on the couch, clicker in hand, but to miss his commitment ceremony would be unthinkable.  He’s my oldest friend, and he’s the one who introduced me to Brad all those years ago, although I don’t hold it against him.  

Earlier, I put on my makeup, fixed my hair, and picked out clothes, all on automatic pilot.  I actually used to enjoy these things, before.  Before it got so hard to leave the house.  Maybe this is what I need, even though I’m uncomfortable with it, I tell myself, trying to psych myself up for the evening.    Everyone says it’s good to get out, see people.  Friends, acquaintances – a room full of potential conversations and possible connections are here.  Rene’s friends are all so witty and fun.  Maybe they can shake me out of this funk, this black hole of self imposed isolation that I’ve descended into.  

I slide open the screen door, looking for Grace and actively avoiding Clark and Stephan, feeling their eyes boring into my back as I step outside.  They know her, of course.  Clark is Brad’s boss, and Jasmine is Clark’s assistant.  Jasmine.  Sexy, younger.  What a fucking cliché.  I’ve often wondered if Clark set them up, or at the very least did nothing to discourage it.  He’s never been that friendly to me.  Well, it doesn’t matter at this point.  Jasmine left the company when I found out about the affair and all hell broke loose.  Brad begged me to forgive him.  We saw a therapist.  We went on ‘dates’, made love, made plans.  He apologized profusely and said it was over between them.  He loved me, he loved our life together, he promised it would never happen again.  And then…she walked in and everything, eight months later, was exactly the same.  So much for promises. 

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So, that’s it.  I have no idea where that came from in my overloaded brain, but there it is.  You should try it. It’s a good exercise.  Make something up and see where it goes.  Have fun.

11 Responses

  1. I needed a fun no brainer myself. I’ve skipped BTT some weeks when the post would have cost me too many brain cells. HaHaHa. Happy Btt and you have a fun blog.

  2. Yikes, I just read some other entries, and I did this all wrong. Many others did too. It’s a WRITING CHALLENGE and you’re supposed to write something to connect the two sentences, something other than what’s there on the page. What a dope. Not sure I have enough brain power to do this today. Maybe later.

  3. I hope your daughter is going to be okay. I’m sending get well vibes her way ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    I decided not to do this challenge. There’s too much work to do at work already!

    Take care of yourself too, Lisa. Now I’m all worried!

  4. Don’t worry; I did it wrong first time around too, and went back and “fixed” it.🙂

  5. Who says you’re not a writer. That was a great connection!

  6. I didn’t get that either!

    And good energy thoughts, prayers and hugs for your daughter.

  7. Thanks for all the comments. Char and Care, we are waiting for test results. Should get some news today. Thanks for your concern.

  8. And I am yet to fix it!

    LOL!

    Here is my BTT post!

  9. Yay! Yours is the first one I’ve seen that actually wrote between their two sentences! Love it.

    As for me, I got lazy and only did the first and last sentence. Last night I had planned on writing a story in between, but then I had some wine and went to sleep and this morning I just didn’t have it in me.

    Thanks for taking the challenge and running with it!

  10. My thoughts and prayers are with your family at this time.

    It is amazing how some books do hit too close to home.

    I thought you tied the two sentences together very well. I wanted to know more. I think you have the writing gene.🙂

  11. I just went back through the last few posts and somehow I missed this one. Wow. YES YOU ARE a writer. I want to know what happens next, too. I don’t know what is going on with your daughter but I hope everything is alright and the test results are good.

Leave a Reply

