Celebrating Poetry, Music, and Daughters

In celebration of April being National Poetry Month, and in an even BIGGER personal celebration of good test results from a biopsy my daughter had last week, I’d like to share the lyrics to “In My Daughter’s Eyes” by Martina McBride.

 

In my daughter’s eyes I am a hero
I am strong and wise and I know no fear
But the truth is plain to see
She was sent to rescue me
I see who I wanna be
In my daughter’s eyes

In my daughter’s eyes everyone is equal
Darkness turns to light and the
world is at peace
This miracle God gave to me gives me
strength when I am weak
I find reason to believe 
In my daughter’s eyes

And when she wraps her hand
around my finger
Oh it puts a smile in my heart
Everything becomes a little clearer
I realize what life is all about

It’s hangin’ on when your heart
has had enough
It’s giving more when you feel like giving up
I’ve seen the light
It’s in my daugter’s eyes

In my daughter’s eyes I can see the future
A reflection of who I am and what will be
Though she’ll grow and someday leave
Maybe raise a family
When I’m gone I hope you see how happy
she made me
For I’ll be there
In my daughter’s eyes

 

 

12 Responses

  1. Such a beautiful song and I celebrate your good news!

  2. Great news!

    Isn’t Martina McBride amazing? Her song “Blessed” always makes me cry!

    Lezlie

  3. That’s great news – and a great song – which I always thought was by Faith Hill!

  4. Fantastic news Lisamm, couldn’t read the words just yet too emotional as so happy for you, will wait and read them tomorrow. Give her an extra hug from me…..my son is so thrilled Lisamm.

  5. Hooray for good test results!

  6. Aw, this is so touching! Congrats on the good news. I can only imagine what it must have been like to wait for those kind of test results.

    Best,

    Becca

  7. Happy to hear your good news.

  8. Yay! All of you are adorable!

  9. Wow, great news about your daughter!

  10. Thanks for such an uplifting post. GREAT news about your daughter’s test results and you all look wonderful (and so happy) in the photo.

  11. So sweet and deserving of celebration!🙂

Leave a Reply

