Booking Through Thursday: Springing

Springing April 24, 2008

Filed under: WordPress — –Deb @ 1:37 am 

btt button

 What I want to know, is:

Do your reading habits change in the Spring? Do you read gardening books? Even if you don’t have a garden? More light fiction than during the Winter? Less? Travel books? Light paperbacks you can stick in a knapsack?

Or do you pretty much read the same kinds of things in the Spring as you do the rest of the year?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The change of seasons in Southern California is pretty subtle.  Winter brings some cold rainy days, but it’s not weeks of cold weather the way it is in other parts of the world.  It is a few random wet days interspersed with our normal mild and sunny “postcard” weather.  Spring is more of the same.  We have flowers blooming all year round.  I know… you’re jealous!  Talk to me during fire season in late summer/early fall, when you’re enjoying a lovely Indian Summer, picking out your pumpkins and wearing a light sweater, and we’re dealing with triple digit temps, devil winds and smoke and ash.  I’ll be jealous then!

Back to the question.  My reading habits don’t vary much with the season, except maybe in summer. Usually I’ll throw a magazine or something very light into the beach bag when I take the kids to the water park or the pool, since I know I’ll be distracted every few minutes by requests for drinks, ice cream, money, sunscreen, hot dogs, towels, etc.  Last year I was reading The Kite Runner in July at the water park and my 9 year old dumped her Icee all over it.  Luckily I’d just finished it, but I had to take it to book club that weekend all swollen and blue!  The next time we went I brought People magazine with me just in case there was another Icee mishap.

Do you vary your reading habits depending on the season?

12 Responses

  1. I understand the Icee mishaps… mine are usually when I’ve reading in the tub, though 🙂

    Have a great Thursday!

  2. I don’t have kids, but I’ve learned not to take books with me to the pool – I usually drop them in the water or smear them with sunscreen. Your weather reminds me of the weather we used to have in South Texas where I grew up – we really didn’t have much winter, either. And instead of fires, we had tornados!

  3. Wow, you’re fast! How did you get this up already? I just woke up!

    I’ve never really thought much about how the seasons effect my reading, only my eating habits. But now that you mention it, I do notice that I read lighter stuff in the summer as well. Sometimes even starting in late spring. The thing is, I get a little stir crazy and having to concentrate on nonfiction environmentalist rants can be devastating to my reading. I’ll either give up completely or dump the difficult stuff for a nice fluffy Sophie Kinsella book that I know I don’t have to pay too much attention to and I can finish in one day.

  4. The seasons don’t really effect my reading choices too much. I’ll read a few novels, then read something non-fiction for a break. Typically, I’ll turn to a lighter novel after reading a serious non-fiction book. I try to keep a good balance.

  5. Ummm…I forgot what I was going to say.

    Good BTT Lisa. Maybe I’ll remember later. Damn Alzheimer’s!

  6. My answer, from San Diego, is very much like yours … without the Icee stains on my ‘Kite Runner’!

  7. the weather doesn’t change WHAT i’m reading…but it does change how MUCH i read. in the winter i love to hole up with a good book, but now that the nice weather made it to ‘jersey, i’d rather be outside!🙂

  8. The worst I’ve done to a book is spill a glass of wine on it. The poor thing turned purple along the edges. Happy BTT.

  9. Hi,

    I am also in SouthernCalifornia and I am like you. The only season that tends to affect my reading choices is summer. I have a hard time reading “fluff” but I do lean towards “happier” stories or stories with less complicated plots once the warm weather hits.

    I love your Icee story. I have two younger kids and I have to watch the little one or I would have colored pages if I left my book lying around.

    Ti

  10. My reading habits are pretty much the same throughout the year. I read business, self-help, and success books mainly. However, this summer I might just indulge in a little fiction.

  11. Since I tend to be a huge klutz, I usually don’t take books to the pool with me!! It breaks my heart to ruin a book!!

    In Illinois, the weather is definitely NOT subtle!! But I’m not a seasonal reader. I just read by mood!

  12. I’m a cheapskate so I can’t be that picky about what books I’m reading and when. I do read more magazines in the summer though, like you mentioned. And as for mishaps… At our book club meeting when we discussed “eat, pray, love” one girl dropped her red wine on someone else’s paperback of “eat, pray, love” and just ruined it! As you know, it’s a white book so the red wine really stained it badly.

Leave a Reply

