Guest Post: In Praise of Book Clubs, Vol. 5

Julie, a voracious reader who writes the pretty, pink Booking Mama blog, tells us what’s special about her book club in the following essay entitled “What My Book Club Means to Me.” 

About six and half years ago, my husband and I chose to move to Central PA so I could be a stay-at-home mom. We had lived in the DC area for 10 years, but we wanted a less expensive and more stable place to bring up our family. When we made this decision, I didn’t take into account the drastic change it would be for me. I was no longer working and I was staying home full-time with a very active (and very demanding) 2 year old. I had no close friends or anyone even to talk to for that matter! 

Fortunately, I found a wonderful preschool that my daughter could attend two mornings a week (what a lifesaver!) I also was incredibly lucky to meet other stay-at-home moms with whom I had a lot in common. I’ve always been an avid reader, and I decided that I wanted to share my love of books with others. I asked a few of my friends to join me once a month for a book discussion, and the Preschool Moms Book Club was formed! 

Through the years our membership has gone up and down, but I can proudly say that we’ve read and discussed almost 70 books. Each of our members take turns choosing the book, hosting the meeting and leading the discussion. We’ve read all types of books, and now we’ve even added the occasional author chats to our monthly meetings. 

I can’t express how much my book club means to me. Each month I look forward to a girls’ night out with some dessert, wine and terrific conversation. We’ve been through a lot together these past few years, including many new babies; but I hope our book club keeps on going for many more years in the future. I feel so blessed to have a wonderful circle of friends with whom I can talk about anything. 

Blogger Bio:  Julie has been married to her husband Matt for almost 15 years. They have 2 children, an 8 year old daughter and a 3 year old son. She started her popular book blog Booking Mama in January 2008.

***Would you like to share about your book club here at Books on the Brain?  If so, leave a comment and I will get in touch with you about a guest post!

For previous volumes of In Praise of Book Clubs, click HERE

For more info on starting your own book club, click HERE

For fun ways to make your book club better, click HERE

For a chance to win a copy of Matrimony by Joshua Henkin, click HERE by May 15th.  Josh would be happy to do an author chat with your book club!

For a chance to win a copy of The Next Thing On My List by Jill Smolinski, click HERE by May 15. You can contact Jill at her website about setting up an author chat. 

4 Responses

  1. Thanks so much for posting this! I have been enjoying this series and can’t wait to read more.

  2. I only hope that my book club lasts as long.

  3. I’m enjoying this series about book clubs – it’s making me think more about my own, and giving me some ideas to share with them. If you’re still open for guest posts on this topic, I’d love the chance to contribute!

  4. Yay Julie P!! moving sucks and yet, moving is COOL because you do get to change it up and meet new people. I’m glad you found such a great group.

    Lisa, I am quite impressed with your blog theme of advice and ‘stuff’ on book clubs. thank you for this! you’ve got a niche here.

Leave a Reply

