I Didn’t Get the Memo..

My daughters have been Hannah Montana freaks for the last couple of years.  They have Hannah t-shirts, Hannah pajamas, even Hannah wigs.  They have all the music, they know all the words to all the songs, they’ve seen all the shows.  We’ve been to a Hannah Montana concert (with earplugs for me- 10,000 screaming preteen girls make quite a racket!).  You could say they were Hannah Maniacs.  

So my 10 year old was thrilled a few weeks ago when I got her a pair of plaid bermuda shorts (very popular right now at her school) and a coordinating Hannah t-shirt. She couldn’t wait to wear it to a girl scout meeting and again to a party.  Today I suggested she wear it to school, and she refused!  When I asked why, she said she’d still wear it at home, but not to school, because Hannah is babyish.

Babyish?  Obviously she hasn’t seen those Vanity Fair photos.

Who decides this stuff?  And why didn’t I get the memo?

12 Responses

  1. so cute…

  2. It’s a girl’s perogative to change her mind. LOL.

    My daughter is only 4 and she is a Hannah fan too. We saw Miley at breakfast once and I had to pull my starstruck daughter out of the paparazi’s path. She had no idea what was going on, only that Miley was right in front of us.

    From that point on, all her clothes had to either have Hannah on them, or had to be something Hannah would wear. Oh, and did I mention? She’s FOUR! I am wondering how long the phase will last. Someone probably made a comment to your daughter about Hannah being “babyish”.

    Ti

  3. I wonder what the next craze will be? I suppose you’ll have to wait a few hours to find out LOL. I remember doing the same thing though when I was a kid, all part of growing up, my Mom never got the memo’s either🙂

  4. I remember doing that to my parents too.

  5. I agree with Ti, someone probably said, “Hannah Montana is for babies!” and now your daughter is wondering why you are so behind on the times. Oh, upper elementary age children…

  6. Gosh, your daughters are just so beautiful! (It’s because you’re beautiful too). It makes me sad to think of them growing up so quickly.

    Sniff, sniff. Damn, I’m such a softy.

  7. Your daughters are gorgeous! I enjoyed a little peek into the world of mothering daughters… Thank you!

  8. Well, I can only say this … my future sister in law is in her 20s and she’s a huge Miley Cyrus fan … so I’m sure the girls will convert from the Hannah side to the Miley side soon!

  9. Psh. You didn’t get the memo? I did.

    hehehe…just kidding. What the heck do I know?

    Memos aren’t distributed to moms. If you had your finger on the pulse of adolescents, that just wouldn’t be cool at all.😀

  10. I just wish my little boy would grow out of his Thomas the Train phase . . .

  11. Hahaha, that’s hilarious. I think the “cool” kids at school decide that stuff. I remember all of a sudden hating my favorite stuff when I was a kid too, just because someone else made fun of me for it.

    P.S. That picture is too cute. You’ve got some adorable daughters.

  12. I know this is going to sound a bit old fashioned but, I really like looking after my hearing and whilst I do agree with the preceding poster and I really hope I do not get shot down for stating this, but I think it is important to take all things in moderation.

Leave a Reply

