The Sunday Salon

What a beautiful Sunday we’re having here in Southern California!  Sunny, warm, clear..  ah, is it nice!  Too nice to be indoors, that’s for sure. 

Reading has been my salvation this week, diverting my mind away from the pain caused by my graceful accident last Sunday.  I haven’t gotten that much done with regards to ARCs and books to review, but I’m all caught up with Oprah and Shape!  I did finish Songs for the Missing and The Fires, but beyond that I slept and read magazines while nursing my wounds. 

I’ve received many more books to review this week including I, Robot by Howard S. Smith, Down to a Sunless Sea by Mathias B. Freese, a collection of short stories called Have I Got a Guy for You (looks funny but I’m not at that place in my life-I might have to give this away-comment if you’d be interested), The House at Riverton by Kate Morton, Rules for Saying Goodbye by Katherine Taylor, and The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen.  I think that’s it.  I can’t keep up with the flow of incoming books so I’ve been passing a lot to my book club friends.  

I’m currently reading The Leper Compound by Paula Nangle, which is very compact, but so richly written that I am reading it slowly.  It’s goooooooood.  I’m going to start The Sugar Queen tonight. 

Don’t forget to enter my book giveaways:  Springtime on Mars (click HERE) and The Fires (click HERE).  You have until June 6th to enter.

What are you reading this weekend?  

7 Responses

  1. I’m dying to read THE SUGAR QUEEN — you lucky dog! I can’t wait to hear how it is. I really enjoyed GARDEN SPELLS.

  2. I am reading Prodigal Summer right now. Didn’t like it at first but now
    I am beginning to get into. It’s the perfect read for a lazy Sunday.

  3. Okay, we need to stop reading the exact same books. I’m ALSO currently reading “The Leper Compound,” along with an ARC called “Alive in Necropolis.” However, next up are “Springtime on Mars” and “Songs for the Missing,” both of wihch I know you’ve read recently. I just finished “Have I Got a Guy for You” and have “Down to a Sunless Sea” waiting in the wings.

    Perhaps we both need to get to some books that weren’t given to us for review?

  4. Congrats! You’ve just been tagged for the 6 Things meme. My apologies if you’ve already participated – it’s possible I’m the last person in the world to do this. =) All the info is posted on my blog if you want to play along.

  5. I’ve been listening to Ian McEwan’s On Chesil Beach. Beautiful writing. Uncomfortable subject matter to listen to with children nearby.

  6. Just finished The Book of Air and Shadows and will take a break from reading until I get the review written! I’m adding O’Nan to my list…

  7. I’m reading Down to a Sunless Sea right now. It’s alright so far. It’s more character studies than short stories in my opinion, but a couple have been pretty interesting. I also have Have I Got a Guy For You. I need to read the story about the D&D convention. But, like you, I’m not in that place in my life right now, so who knows how much I’ll be able to read.

Leave a Reply

