Winners and Predictions

First, the winners:

The winner of Springtime on Mars by Susan Woodring is Wendy from Caribou’s Mom! Speaking of moms.. that is the author’s mother on the cover- it’s her 8th grade graduation photo, taken in 1959! Please see the author’s guest post about why a short story collection is an excellent choice for a book club HERE.

The winner of The Fires by Alan Cheuse is Jessica! Read the review HERE.

Congrats to the winners! I will email you both to get your addresses!

Next, the predictions:

Predictions from The Book Industry Study Group on the publishing industry: Book sales growth will be flat, the children’s market will barely break even, mass market paperbacks will plummet as baby boomers seek larger print, growth will be seen in religious books, but the hottest market in the publishing industry, with growth of 8% or better, will be.. (get ready… drumroll please…. ) can you guess???? Make a prediction in the comments, then go read the article. It’s not what you think!

The article can be found HERE.

P.S. Don’t give it away in the comments after you’ve read the article!  Oh, and the link works now!

13 Responses

  1. YA! I think I read that somewhere. I’m off to see if I’m right.

  2. What? I won’t give the answer but really? I never would have guessed.

  3. Natasha, I know! That was my reaction too! Ok, I’m off to edit the post to ask people not to give it away after they’ve read it..

  4. it doesn’t surprise me that that category is doing well, but it does surprise me that it would be included.

  5. I’m guessing e-books. Off to read the article…

  6. Well that’s weird.

  7. Self Help? That’s my guess. Now off to read the article.

  8. I’m guessing graphic novels or audiobooks. Now to check my answer.

  9. Huh? Wouldn’t have guessed that. I was thinking romance.

  10. I would have guessed large print but you already mentioned that and I don’t think that’s really an industry…

    Off to read the article…

  11. Fitness or self-help were my choices. I just scrolled past a “e-books” in previous comments … Hmm, maybe I should change my vote … off to read the article!

  12. I am surprised also.

  13. Interesting. boring, even.

Leave a Reply

