Janeology by Karen Harrington


It’s strange the way books come into our hands sometimes.  There was no way I was NOT going to read this book, because the author has the same name as my sister!  I ran across Karen Harrington’s name at Pump Up Your Book Promotion where she did a virtual book tour in May, and before long I was emailing the author to tell her of this odd coincidence with her name and wish her well with the tour.  She offered to send me the book, which I’ve been referring to as JANE-ology (Jane is the mother’s name in the book), but perhaps it’s Jay-Nee-Ology, which is more similar to geneology and would also make sense for this story.. I’m not sure.  Anyhoo, I started it yesterday and whipped through the first 60 pages-  let’s just say I *think* the kids had dinner and took baths before going to bed!  

Janeology has a book trailer, much like a preview for a movie.  Is this a new thing, or am I just stupid? Don’t answer that.  Let me rephrase it:  Am I simply the last to know about book trailers??  Anyway, it’s quite dramatic– check it out!

23 Responses

  1. Book trailers have been around for awhile. Apparently, they are meant to reach out to the visual younger generation.🙂
    I still don’t get it, but whatever gets people reading I guess!

  2. I have never seen a book trailer before. That is some crazy stuff!!!

  3. Beastmomma– but you are the visual younger generation of which Amy speaks!! You should be on top of these things, not like us old geezers!

  4. I’ve seen book trailers for a lot of self help books.. but not for fiction. Interesting, isn’t it? I would definitely read the book based on the trailer, but not based on the cover.

  5. I’ve been starting to see book trailers. Maw Books has them up sometimes. I generally think they are cheesy and not that well done, though. Honestly, I could do without them.

  6. For some reason I can’t get the trailer to work on the blog, but here is the URL:

    Ti, the cover is different.. kinda looks like a YA book to me. But it’s not.

    The author just emailed me with more info on book trailers.. I think I’ll do a separate post about that.

  7. I’ve never seen a book trailer before, either. And it didn’t really make me want to read the book. I think I’ll stick with reading reviews!

  8. Interesting trailer – it definitely made me intrigued about the book.

  9. the trailer is amazing! I agree that the book cover makes it look different than the trailer.

  10. I’ve seen a couple of book trailers, but not all that many. They must be the up-and-coming thing for fiction. This one was freaky with that drowned Yoda looking dude rising up out of the water!

    Your book club picture was fun to look at. Thanks for sharing it.

  11. I’m with Carrie K – most intrigued!

  12. I didn’t know about book trailers either! How super cool!

    P.S. I can’t wait to read your review of this book. It sounds like an interesting one.

  13. Another reader rising out of the Dark Ages … book trailers, who knew!?
    Now I won’t imagine a book trailer being that extra little library-approved-climate-controlled moving van packed with books that gets towed behind the big United Van Lines truck during a move!

  14. This is on it’s way to me! I can’t wait to get it.

  15. I sure like the book trailer, and the cover, too! The trailer captures the book perfectly. Kam Wai Yu, the Creative Director of Kunati Books, created the book trailer. It’s really revolutionary, if you think about it.
    On a related note..
    Has anybody seen Lewis Black’s trailers on YouTube, promoting his book? They of course are live, not animated, but they are an interesting take on the book trailer, too.

    Beth Fehlbaum, author
    Courage in Patience, a story of hope for those who have endured abuse
    http://courageinpatience.blogspot.com
    (In the interest of full-disclosure, I am also a Kunati author… but I would be a fan of Kam’s work, even if I wasn’t.)

  16. I have seen a few book trailers but more for authors like James Patterson and Dean Koontz. This one you posted was interesting but they could have made it at least a minute shorter. It was a bit drawn out. I take it you are enjoying the book so far though.🙂

  17. I only recently learned of book trailers. I think they’re a great tool. The first one I saw was for SKIPPY JOHN JONES childrens book. JANEOLOGY sounds like a great story.

    Go to Amazon and check out Karen Harringtons blog post about Books on the Brain. Pretty cool!

  18. […] it! lisamm on Book Club Babeslyndsey on Book Club BabesLisa on Janeology by Karen Harrin…Amy on Review: Songs for the Missing …bethany canfield on Review: Matrimony by […]

  19. I always look to see if there is a book trailer after reading a book. I’ve been posting them on my blog for quite some time. I’ve got a great The Book Thief trailer posted and Jodi Picoult does a trailer for all of her books. Not all trailers allow you to embed them, so I’m not able to post all that I find. But I always look for them.

  20. I’m an author friend of Karen’s. We have the same publisher and of course, Kam’s responsible for my book trailer too.

    It’s so intersting to drop by here and read your comments. I can’t recall the first book trailer I saw, but I’ve seen many awesome ones over the past few years.

    I just finished watching the 4th installment of Dean Koontz’s Odd Passenger web-movie, a 4-part, slightly longer version of the book trailer. Search for it on YouTube. It’s great!

    Amanda Stevens also has some great book trailers.

    If you’re looking for more book trailers, be sure to check out YouTube. There are tons there and you can embed them on your site/blogs.

    Happy reading (and viewing) to all!🙂

    P.S. I’ve just started reading Janeology. So far it’s fantastic!

    Cheryl Kaye Tardif,
    bestselling author of Whale Song, Divine Intervention and The River

  21. Here is another Kunati author and Book trailer person. How lucky are we to have the creater of the Book trailer on our team. Kam Wai Yu is a genius. Karen’s book trailer is proof of that…
    Check out Belly of the Whale on UTube or go to Kunati site to view.
    Linda Merlino

  22. Wow! You said dramatic – but I wasn’t expecting THAT! Sheesh, am I ever intrigued; I’d like to get my hands on this right now! I have seen book trailers in the past…this is probably one of the best done ones I’ve seen.

    Loved seeing your bookclub! Over the summer, mine is reading Love in the Time of Cholera, A Thousand Splendid Suns and The Handmaid’s Tale. Heavy stuff!

  23. Thanks for all the great comments.. book trailers- it’s a whole new world for me!!

    Welcome to Karen’s author friends!! I will have to check out your sites when I have a little time. Thank you so much for stopping by!

    Tara- wow you do have some heavy stuff to read this summer!! What happened to light beach reads in July?? LOL I want to read A Thousand Splendid Suns this summer too. It’s been nearly a year since I read Kite Runner, so I think I’m ready for it.

Leave a Reply

