7 New Books to Throw into your Beach Bag this Summer

School’s out and the kids want to go to the pool, the beach, the water park.  What books should you throw into your beach bag?  Here are a few suggestions:

Not a Happy Camper: A Memoir by Mindy Schneider (256 pages)

A nostalgic look back to the 1970s at the experience of sleep-away camp through the eyes of a 13 year old Jewish girl.  I went to camp in the 70’s and can’t wait to relive those summers with this book.

The Well and the Mine by Gin Phillips (251 pages)

The ripple effect of a baby thrown into a well reveals the racial and class divisions in a southern coal-mining town in Depression-era Alabama. 

The Enders Hotel by Brandon Schrand (238 pages)

Schrand’s memoir of his youth in a decrepit Idaho hotel/cafe/bar. 

The Rope Walk by Carrie Brown (336 pages)

The story of a summer friendship between two children from very different backgrounds: 10 year old motherless Alice and the neighbor’s grandson, Theo.

The Last Summer (of You & Me) by Ann Brashares (320 pages)

Traveling Pants author’s first novel for adults- a coming of age story about two sisters in love with the same man.  

The Manny by Holly Peterson (368 pages)

A Park Ave. mom hires a male nanny for her son.  Could this be the male version of The Nanny Diaries?  Judging from the reviews on amazon, people seem to either love it or hate it.

Love and Biology at the Center of the Universe by Jennie Shortridge (400 pages)

After learning her college sweetheart husband has been cheating on her, Mira takes off with no destination in mind and lands in Seattle, where she finds someone new: herself.  I loved Jennie Shortridge’s book, Eating Heaven, and can’t wait to dive into this one!

What books are going in your beach bag? 

11 Responses

  1. I want your books in my summer reading bag!!! I don’t know what will be in mine, Oregon is still holding out in winter!!

  2. Great question and great list! Hmmm… Well, the hubby and I are supposed to be placing an Amazon order this weekend so that will include “New Moon” by Stephenie Meyer, “The Art Of Racing In The Rain” by Garth Stein, “The Last Summer of You & Me” by Ann Brashares. I just finished “Mrs. Lieutenant” this morning (my review will be up by Tuesday on Planet Books) so I started James Patterson’s new thriller “Sail”. Books at the top of my TBR list and wiating patiently on my shelves are “Belong To Me” by Marisa de los Santos, “Free Food For Millionaires” by Min Jin Lee, and “The We Came To The End” by Joshua Ferris. Whew!! I’m sure glad that AFN (Armed Forces Network) isn’t airing any good shows so far this summer because I’m on a roll!!
    Oh, BTW, on NBC, Nashville Star started in the States this past week and will begin airing here tomorrow night. I had auditioned for this show this year and will curious to see and hear who could have posibly been better than me! hee hee
    XOXO-K

  3. The Rope Walk was one of my favorite books of 2007. The narrator’s voice reminds me very much of Scout from To Kill A Mockingbird. Like Mockingbird, there are some serious themes involved in the story as well, but Carrie Brown has done a wonderful job of capturing what it can be like to be a carefree child running wild on long, hot summer days without an adult looking over your shoulder. Thanks for pointing it out.

    Ann

  4. What beach bag? No way I can read with kids in the water! 🙂 Seriously, though I have tons of books to read this summer. I can’t list any particularly although I’m finally going to read Pillars of the Earth, although I don’t think that’s very beachy.

  5. That camp one sounds pretty good. I might have to try it even though I’ve declared a moratorium on memoirs.

    What beach? Damn, I’m envious!

  6. Those sound good. When sitting on the sidelines of child’s activities, I have to read a book that bears up to frequent interruptions- thus light material is best! I’m afraid I’d probably be in the “hate” camp for that Manny one, though.

  7. Thanks for all the great comments!

    Bethany, I’m sorry summer hasn’t arrived yet for you! For us it officially arrived at 12:40 yesterday, when the kids were dismissed on the last day of school! (and the weather’s cooperating, too.. this is Southern California after all!)

    Karen, Can’t wait to read your review of Mrs. Lietuenant! I hope it was good. We will look for Nashville Star!

    Ann, wow, you make it sound great! Thanks!

    Natasha, sounds like your kids are younger than mine. At 9 and 10 I don’t need to hover as much- I just need to be available to give them a ride to their friend’s house, or dole out money for snacks, or spray on more sunscreen.

    Char, I’m sort of done with memoirs for awhile but I agree the camp one sounds fun. Sorry about your lack of sand and waves🙂

    Jeane, yes! I’m with you on the “frequent interruptions” and light material being best! I can’t get so sucked into something that I forget my little darlings are nearby, LOL.

  8. Ooooh goodie!!! More recommendations. I love it! Some of those sound really good, especially the last one. I’ll for sure be checking that out.

  9. I think I’m going to add some of those books to my summer reading list.

    Of course, I’m waiting for Meyer’s new book. All else will be put aside when that arrives in the mail. I think I’ll try one of Weiner’s books, Good in Bed, and maybe catch up on some Jane Austen ( I just watched the Jane Austen Book Club and now want to read the four books I haven’t read yet).

  10. […] June 19, 2008 at 7:25 pm · Filed under Uncategorized and tagged: reading lists, summer reading lists Lisa at Books on the Brain (my favorite book blog) has posted a list of 7 New Books to Throw into your Beach Bag this Summer.  […]

  11. I would like to recommend a book. Five Minutes till Race Time by Bill Hanks ISBN 1-60563-730-0 Can be found at amazon, borders, and Barnes & Noble webs site. Very good reading for young adults.

Leave a Reply

