Books to Take on a Trip to the Lake

  


My daughter comes home today from Girl Scout camp, no doubt smelling of horses and sunshine and full of stories and songs, with a bag of reeking stinky clothes and shoes. I can’t wait to see her but will have to fire up the washing machine the minute she walks through the door, because we leave tomorrow to fly across country for 2 weeks at the lake with the cousins!

So I have some big decisions to make.. which books from the teetering TBR pile will I stuff into the suitcase? I’m currently reading The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti. It may just be the best book I’ve read all year, although I’m saying that prematurely since I’ve read just 150 pages. Who knows, maybe it will take some horrible unforeseen turn and I will throw it against the wall, but I doubt it. It is absolutely engrossing. I’m also going to take Loving Frank by Nancy Horan, my book club’s August selection. I want something a bit lighter for the beach, so I’m thinking of either Names My Sisters Call Me by Megan Crane or How The Other Half Hamptons by Jasmin Rosemberg for that. Between cooking hot dogs, swatting mosquitoes, and chasing down kids, that’s probably all I’ll be able to get to, but I’ll throw The White Mary by Kira Salak into the bag just in case I have more time.

My internet access will be severely limited while I’m gone, but I have several posts in the wings that will publish during my vacation. I will be back “live” after July 15th. If you send an email before then, I won’t be able to respond until I get back.

Don’t forget about my contests!  I have two running right now.  One is with Hatchette to give away two books by Elin Hilderbrand (click HERE) and one is for a copy of JANEOLOGY by Karen Harrington (click HERE).  Leave a comment by July 15th for a chance to win.

Hope you all have a wonderful 4th of July weekend!

13 Responses

  1. I know I’m not reading like I was with both kids home! Enjoy your vacation — we’ll practically be neighbors!

  2. Names My Sisters Call Me is a great pick.😉

    Have fun!

  3. I’ve heard great things about The White Mary. It’s moving up in my TBR pile.🙂

    Talk to you soon!

  4. Enjoy your trip! I have only heard good things about the Book Thief.

  5. Have fun at the lake!

  6. Thanks, guys! Hey Beastmomma, just wanted to point out that this is The Good Thief, not THe Book Thief. Completely different book.

  7. How come I haven’t heard of these books? Where have I been, under a rock or something? “The Good Thief” sounds terrific, and if you liked it as much as all that, it totally has to be worth reading! I guess I’ll have to buy a copy when it’s released (sniff).

    “Names My Sisters Call Me” sounds great too. Drats! I wish I were rich so I could quit working and just read.

  8. Glad to hear you like The Good Thief. I just picked up a free copy at the ALA Convention. The jacket blurb sounded good so thought I’d give it a try!

  9. I received The Good Thief and now can’t wait to read it. I am almost done with The White Mary and I think it is very good so far but I have read really mixed reviews. Enjoy your vacation!

  10. Ooo, I haven’t read any of those. I look forward to hearing what you think. Enjoy your vacation!

  11. I think you’ll really enjoy Loving Frank. It’s one of my favorites this year…I’m practically pushing it into every friend’s hands. Can’t wait to read your thoughts….have a great time!

  12. Have a wonderful trip! Two weeks is a long time to pack books for, especially for a speed reader like yourself.

  13. I’ve never heard of The Good Thief. I’ll be waiting for you review, if you say it’s that good. Hope your having a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

