The Sunday Salon

Sunday has arrived in all it’s glory! My house is super QUIET with my husband and kids away at a friend’s horse jumping competition, so you’d think I’d be reading, but you’d be wrong. I am busy busy busy alternately procrastinating and working on a zillion things that have been left undone all week as I have been cavorting with the kiddos- laundry and dishes and bathrooms, oh my!

The only reading I’ve been able to get in this week has been during the 45 minutes my kids were in their swim class each day. My younger one gets mad if I’m not watching her dives or her butterfly stroke, so I have to continuously be looking up in case she happens to glance my way. I’ve only finished one book this week, and it happens to be the one I’m giving away tomorrow- Queen of the Road by Doreen Orion! It’s a good one, so if you haven’t entered my giveaway and would like a chance to win, click HERE to find out how. You have until Monday 7/28 at midnight PST.

As much as I liked Queen of the Road- and I really did! It was very funny and great for the summer travel season- I am really anxious to find a book and be utterly BLOWN AWAY by it. I mean BUH-LOOOOOOWN AWAY. It’s been awhile since something has completely knocked me out. Suggestions, anyone? I don’t want to hear about anything that’s pretty good, pleasant, ok, not bad, nice– give me something freakin’ fantastic, if you can!!

I’ve been checking out lots of blogs recently, again in an effort to be WOWed by something. I’ve been reading the same blogs for months, almost always book blogs, and not venturing too far out beyond my blog roll (not that they aren’t all wonderful and consistently good!!) but recently I started to branch out a bit and have found some really awesome, new (to me) blogs. One that is just amazing for it’s photography is appropriately called BLISS. She shoots in and around her home in beautiful Portland and her kids are a favorite subject. Another cool blog I’ve been stopping by recently is Hooked on Houses. Julia from HOH is a self described real estate junkie and lover of homes, big and small. If you love houses, check her out! One other one that I want to share (even though she’s been in my blog roll a long while- but it’s definitely not a book blog) is The Queen Mum. If you have delicate sensibilities, don’t- I repeat- don’t visit. She drops the f-bomb quite liberally. But if that’s not a problem for you, get ready to laugh. I have had to wipe tears from my eyes on more than one occasion from her screamingly funny posts, like this one. But don’t say I didn’t warn you.

What books and blogs have blown you away recently?? I would love to know!

20 Responses

  1. I just finished THE SEPTEMBERS OF SHIRAZ and LOVED it!!!! I’m also dying to read THE LACE READER because I’ve heard wonderful things about that one too!

  2. I like your blog. It’s refreshing to see a sane blogger at work. Sandysays1.wordpress.com

  3. Nothing has blown me away lately, either! My mother was just talking this morning about the new Elizabeth George novel, Careless in Red. We both love this author, but HATED her last book, What Came Before He Shot Her. She may be loving it so much because the last was such a disappointment, though.

  4. I’ve read some good and very good books lately, but nothing that has blown me away. I have a few on my shelf that people say are “wow” worthy, but I have others I have to get to first.

    Thank you for the link to The Queen Mum blog! I just visited the site and can’t stop laughing myself. What fun!

  5. I loved Garden Spells this weekend… Couldn’t put it down!

  6. I can not recommend Ellen Baker’s KEEPING THE HOUS enough! This was AMAZING and ENGULFING. Good luck on your quest for a book to BUH-LOOOOOOW you away.

  7. I entered the Queen contest and the author emailed me last week and I said I did not win! I thought the contest ended on the 28th.

    I am also looking for a book to blow me away. I remember being blown away by Uncle Tom’s Cabin, but you are probably looking for contemporary fiction. I tend to read the classics when I am unable to find anything current.

  8. Sorry, those are the books I was blown away recently and links to reviews I did of them. They are two very different kinds of books, but both very good, each in its own way.

  9. I’m with Julie…Septembers of Shiraz is amazing.

  10. Thanks for all the great suggestions! I have to read Septembers of Shiraz right away, and it’s sitting here, so I’m glad to hear it was great!

    Kristen, I liked Garden Spells too. I reviewed it here a while back. Her next one, The Sugar Queen, was good too.

    Ti, that’s very weird about the contest! Is it possible you entered a contest for Queen in more than one place? I entered to win it somewhere before getting a copy from the author, and she emailed me herself to tell me I was not the lucky winner. Anyway, I will find out what the deal is! Thanks for alerting me!

  11. I’m with you. Nothing has blown me away lately. i just started The Condition by Jennifer Haigh and it’s the best thing I’ve read in a long while.

  12. Ah the great god procrastination; I worship frequently at the same altar. If you haven’t yet read ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’ then I strongly recommend that. Blown away might be a bit much, but it’s a very good read.

  13. Well, aren’t you nice to mention Hooked on Houses? Thanks, Lisa! I’m a fan of Bliss, but I’ll have to check out The Queen Mum. Sounds like a good one.

    I’m trying to think of a book that has blown me away recently and I’m drawing a blank. I really enjoyed Loving Frank by Nancy Horan, but that may be because I was so interested in learning more about Frank Lloyd Wright (it was a novelized account of his relationship with the woman he left his wife for). I’m on a search for another good one myself! -Julia🙂

  14. A book that has blown me away? No question, “The Gargoyle.” Unfortunately it isn’t being released for another week, but it is good enough that I would recommend pre-ordering it so that you can read it A.S.A.P.

  15. I agree.

  16. wow, great blog, and great recommendations.

  17. […] at Books on the Brain mentioned me in her Sunday Salon. Thanks, Lisa! If you’re hooked on books like I am, then be […]

  18. […] apologized, because (obviously) everything was his fault.  And remember how I wanted to be WOWed by a book?  Let me just tell you, I have been WOWed, big time!!  I spent an hour and a half (while my kids […]

Leave a Reply

