Review: The Heartbreak Diet by Thorina Rose

The Heartbreak Diet: A story of family, fidelity, and starting over by Thorina Rose is like a comic book for adults.  However, there are no action heroes here:  no laser beams or men in capes; just the brave heroine, Thorina, who puts the worst part of her life on display in an honest, heartbreaking, and hopeful manner.  

Thorina finds out her husband X does more with his running partner than run.  She handles the discovery of his adultery with such dignity and class, even going so far as to meet the other woman, Vivienne- who is younger with glowing skin, bigger breasts, and an unencumbered lifestyle.  Thorina’s husband, a cruel selfish bastard, wants to try a polyamorous relationship (yuck) and they go through gutwrenching counseling sessions, but ultimately, he leaves Thorina and their two young sons (who later tell her, “Vivienne’s really nice!  It’s kind of like having another mom!” OUCH).  Thorina’s friends prop her up and keep her sane, and she eventually comes to terms with the end of her marriage.  

Ok, so the story isn’t very original, but the execution of it certainly is.  I really liked Thorina.  I laughed through her revenge fantasies and was completely charmed by the frankness of the writing and the freshness of the illustrations.  The Heartbreak Diet is a quick read. I read it in under an hour.  It was my first foray into the world of graphic novels, and I enjoyed it immensely.  This book would make a great gift for anyone who is on their own Heartbreak Diet, forgetting to eat lunch due to major distractions in their lives.  I would highly recommend it.

7 Responses

  1. I’ve been hearing a lot about graphic novels lately. This seems like a good way to start.

  2. I’ve looked through graphic novels, but don’t have much desire to actually sit down and read one. The comic format doesn’t seem easy to read.

  3. This sounds like a delightful (if heart wrenching) read. I like it when the hero is a tough women. I’ll have to check this out.

  4. Stephanie – give this one a chance; I think it’s a perfect “starter” graphic novel!

    Thanks for popping by my blog, lisamm! Drop by again sometime🙂

  5. I’ve thought about checking out a graphic novel but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. Maybe this one will do the trick!

  6. I haven’t read any graphic novels; *The Heartbreak Diet* and *Persepolis* have been recommended to me. I’m putting it on my “to do before summer ends” list.

  7. […] The Heartbreak Diet is Comical – Books on the Brain […]

Leave a Reply

