The Sunday Salon

If a Sunday Salon is written when it’s still Saturday, is it a Saturday Salon?  Hmmm.

If you’re reading this on Sunday morning, my family and I are en route to Catalina Island, 26 miles across the sea, off the coast of Southern California, where we’ll take a golf cart around Avalon, swim and snorkel, eat, rent bikes, and relax for the day.  The last time we went, when my 10 year old was just a baby, we saw a huge pod of dolphins just off the coast- it was crazy.  There were hundreds of them, leaping and playing and pirouetting into the air.  I hope we see some wildlife on this trip, too. 

So this was an interesting week, but not the best week for reading.  I read The Septembers of Shiraz by Dalia Sofer, which was spectacular!  I finished it just last night, which unfortunately was several days late for the online book club at Every Day I Write the Book, but there are tons of comments over there about it, so many in fact that I don’t really have anything new to add to the discussion.  I’ve read so many opinions of the book now I’m not sure how to review it, aside from saying I loved it.  Have you ever read so many reviews of a book that you feel like you can’t come up with something fresh to say about it?  I think that’s what happened. 

I noticed that Dewey’s Weekly Geeks were doing something interesting last week.  If I understand correctly, the Geeks were to list books that they’d read but had not reviewed yet, and ask their readers to post questions about the books for them to answer.  So I’m going to borrow the Geeky idea and give you my list.  If anyone wants to ask me a question, go for it! 

The Septembers of Shiraz by Dalia Sofer

Queen of the Road by Doreen Orion

Loving Frank by Nancy Horan

The Safety of Secrets by DeLaune Michel

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott

I started two other books this week- The Last Queen by CW Gortner- which just came out July 29th and is fascinating historical fiction, and Shrink Rap by Robin Altman- which is filled with short, hysterical essays on parenting and child psychiatry (it’s a hoot!).  I’ve got the hysterical one in my car for “waiting” times (swim class, gymnastics) and the historical one on my nightstand for evening reading.  

Oh, I forgot to say that CARE from Care’s Online Book Club was the winner of my Queen of the Road giveaway!  Your book is on it’s way, my dear!  Enjoy!  Everyone still has time to enter the The Safety of Secrets giveaway, which will run until August 8th.  

I hope you all have a beautiful summer Sunday!

13 Responses

  1. Let us know how Catalina was. I have not been there for over 20 years!

    I know what you mean about Shiraz. So much was said about it, but every comment led me to think about something else in the book. It’s an excellent book for discussion.

  2. Oh I love Catalina, I haven’t been there for years and years. Have fun! You should have your 10 year old read “Island of the Blue Dolphins” when you get back. When I was young I always liked to read it when we went to Catalina, since it is a fellow Channel Island.

  3. Bird by Bird is one of my “permanent collection” books – LOVE it.

    A couple of questions for you:

    The subtitle of the book is “Some Instructions on Writing and Life.” What “instructions” do you think will be most helpful to you, in writing, life, or both?

    What are your thoughts about Anne’s expressions of her Christianity?

  4. Queen of the Road will be my next read. What was your favorite part of the book?

  5. Oh happy happy day! I’m so glad you like Shrink Rap! Whenever someone laughs at my jokes it makes my day! Have a great time on Catalina! Istead of swimming with the dolphins, we’re going to swim with the bacteria and fungus on the Skuykill River today.

  6. Okay, I have questions…

    For Septembers, did you prefer one family member’s story over any of the others, and if so, why?

    And for Queen of the Road, do you think you would be able to take a similar trip with your husband?

  7. I got it already! I so love opening the mailbox and it’s… a BOOK! thank you. I’ve excited to read it. Have fun at Catalina – sounds like such a classy Frank Sinatra kind of place to me.

  8. Have a great trip. For the Septembers of Shiraz, to what does the title related?

    In Loving Frank, which relationship stood out to you the most and why?

    In Bird by Bird, what will you take away with you from the book?

  9. Couldn’t tell you this in my earlier comment here because the post wasn’t up yet, but I have a little blog award to give you. Happy Monday :-)!

  10. I read Septembers of Shiraz a couple months ago. Its a beautifully written book. I hope you liked it too.

    What did you think about the son’s and daugher’s reaction to their father’s incarceration?

    There were a few scenes where Farnaz and the maid discusses the social and political unrest in Tehran, who do you think had more valid points?

  11. […] by Bird by Anne Lamott Posted on August 24, 2008 by lisamm A couple of weeks ago in a Sunday Salon post I listed some books I’d read but hadn’t reviewed, inviting readers to ask me questions […]

Leave a Reply

