If Only They Would Send Books AND Chocolate..

My day wasn’t going so well earlier.  It started off with a stupid fight with my stupid dear husband and went downhill from there.  It’s pretty sad when you find yourself snapping at the dog for not getting out of your way fast enough (and the poor dog has stitches on her head!) and then telling your 9 year old that her head would be shaved if she didn’t brush her hair RIGHT NOW.  And then the damn zipper broke on my favorite shorts- the ones that actually fit.  And for chrissake, is that a zit on my chin??  (Pass the Midol- and the chocolate- and the tissues!)  Grrrrrr grrrrrr grumble grumble leave me alone.  

Ok, so not the best day ever for moi.  But it did get better.  I had some really positive emails this morning on my new venture.  Yeah, me!  And then my dear husband apologized, because (obviously) everything was his fault.  And remember how I wanted to be WOWed by a book?  Let me just tell you, I have been WOWed, big time!!  I spent an hour and a half (while my kids were at their tutoring) reading, and I may not sleep tonight trying to finish this fabulous book.  

And then, the icing on the cake- when we got home, I had a package of two beautiful new books from Hyperion waiting in my mailbox.  They are Schooled by Anisha Lakhani (YA fiction that just came out yesterday) and Getting Rid of Matthew by Jane Fallon (chick lit, coming out Aug. 12).  They both look great.

Free books in the mailbox.. almost as good as chocolate!  Now, if only I could get them to send both!  

Thanks, Hyperion, for making my day!

19 Responses

  1. I’ve actually had a publicist send chocolate with a book before!🙂

    Hope your day keeps getting better!

  2. WHAT??!?!?!?

    No fair!

  3. I never got chocolate, just atomic fireballs!!!!

    I am so excited that you love “this fabulous book” because it’s in my TBR pile!!! Woo Hoo!

  4. I have had those days. Three year olds seem to bring out the worst in me sometimse . Chocolate always helps! Looks like you have some lovely books to read now.

  5. The Last Queen sounds great! I love HF.

  6. I am glad that your day got better and that you were WOWed by a book. I am in the midst of Love in the TIme of Cholera which started off slow and then drew me in, now I am hooked.

  7. Lisa, I had to laugh about the dog. Poor doggie. Been there, done that🙂

    Can’t wait for your review of this fabulous book!

  8. We’ve all been there before. One thing goes wrong and then everything just snowballs. It must have been nice to see those books in the mailbox after such a rough day!

    I am glad you found your WOW book. I have not even heard of that book. How did you come across it?

  9. Getting Rid of Matthew actually looks cute. Can’t wait to see what you think of it!

  10. I love how getting something in the mail — particularly books — can make a truly bad day much, much brighter.

  11. I couldn’t figure out why you had a picture of a shopping bag with the post. Until I realized it was the book cover. I’m a little slow this morning…I must need chocolate, too!
    The chocolate with the books is an excellent idea! You and Trish should propose that to your authors. 😀

  12. First of all, I’m sorry about your argument with your husband. Those days always bite big time, even though they are always his fault and he always apologizes.😉

    I am so completely excited what you’ve said about The Last Queen! I just got that book in the mail on Wednesday and I can’t wait to get started. I just have to finish what I’m currently reading first (challenging me).

    I hope that your weekend is much better than yesterday.

  13. Seriously, Lisa, you’ve been sounding so stressed lately! I’m kind of a loner, so when things start bogging me down, I like to get away by myself for a couple of days. I don’t know if this is possible for you, or if you like to travel by yourself, but maybe you should consider it.

    About 5 years ago, I drove to Santa Fe on my own and had a marvelous time! There were no timetables and no stress. I could wander around and do stupid things without anyone whining in my ear about them.

    Once again, congrats on your new venture. I’m sure it will be a roaring success!

  14. Free books…yay! And chocolate helps almost any situation, I’ve found. Looking forward to hearing about The Last Queen🙂

  15. Julie, atomic fireballs? Is that hot cinammon candy, or something altogether different??

    Jeane, ah yes, 3 yr olds can be tough.

    Elizabeth, I’m a big HF fan too. I just am having the hardest time finding time to read with my kids home for the summer.

    beastmomma, HI!! I have heard good things about Love ITTOC.

    Shana, yeah, my dog doesn’t deserve that. She is so sweet. She’s a golden retriever and just had 2 benign tumors removed. They weren’t dangerous but I didn’t want unsightly lumps on her noggin.

    Ti, I received an ARC from the publisher as part of a blog tour for Dorothy Thompson.

    Trish, the Matthew book does look interesting.. it’s about a woman who is having an affair with a married man. The man leaves his wife for her, but then she decides she doesn’t want him after all! Serves the bastard right!!

    Ruth, it did make it all better🙂

    Jill.. maybe we will! Great idea!

    Jennifer, thanks for the kind words. And you will LOVE The Last Queen, I predict.

    Char, that’s a great idea! Will you babysit?? LOL Seriously, I do have so much going on right now.. some good but a lot bad. Serious health problems in my family (not my kids, thank God) and career issues with dh. It’s been a difficult couple of weeks. But it will all be ok. Thanks for your concern🙂

    Gentle reader, you are so right about chocolate!! Do you have a favorite? Mine is Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups!

  16. I rec’d *Schooled* as well, and my 12-yr-old wants to read it (after I approve it!)

    Let us know if you find a chocolate of the month/week/day club🙂 (Snickers, please!)

  17. Dawn, my 10 year old was eyeing it too. She’s quite the little reader but I have to be careful what I let her read. I’m like you- it must be approved first!

    I love Snickers, too. I only eat them in the fun size at Halloween. Unless my husband brings one home, which he does occasionally. Peanut butter cups are my absolute favorite, though!!

  18. As I was writing my previous comment, my husband was rounding up our 12-yr-old to go grocery shopping (yahoo! I love the weekend!).

    J (showing me the list) – can you think of anything else we need?

    me – bring me a surprise!

    J – like what?

    me – CHOCOLATE!

    (one hour later)

    J – here’s your surprise!
    (and hands me a Ghiradelli “Dark & Mint” chocolate bar)

    I love this man!
    I had to share – have a great day everyone … things are looking up!

  19. I feel for you. I have days like that too. 😦 But there is not much books in the mail cannot erase, is there? I am glad your day ended on a positive note!

    You certainly made my day. Thanks again for holding the contest for The Safety of Secrets!

Leave a Reply

