Teaser Tuesdays

 

Okay, I ripped this off borrowed this from Minds Alive on the Shelves, who got it from Should be Reading, a great blog I’ve never visited before today.  Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme that is just too much fun to pass up.
Here’s how it works:
● Grab your current read. 
● Let the book fall open to a random page. 
Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12. 
● You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given! 
● Please avoid spoilers!            

So, here are my sentences for today, between lines 7 and 12, from my current book, Netochka Nezvanova, a Penguin Classic… hmmm.  1, 2, skip a few..  Ok, here we go, from page 103:

Two years later, while the family was at the Prince’s summer villa, little Sasha, Katya’s younger brother, fell into the river Neva.  The Princess screamed, and her first thought was to throw herself into the water after her son.”
Since I’m only on page 15, I have no idea what’s going on down the road on page 103.  But it sounds interesting!
Play along if you’d like.  I’m going to tag a few people for fun, but anyone is welcome to join in!
I’m tagging:  Jill from Fizzy Thoughts, Anna from Diary of an Eccentric, Natalie from CurlyWurlyGurly, Care from Care’s Online Book Club, and Karen from Planet Books.  

15 Responses

  1. Oh Lisa! I’ve been tagged! did you just post and I just stumbled upon it!??! funny. (PS – just finished Queen of the Road. THX again)

  2. I’ve never heard of that book. Interesting. . . And I see you’re reading The Last Queen. I can’t wait to see your thoughts on it!

    Have a great day, Lisa!
    Lezlie

  3. Hi guys, wow Care, you are quick! I didn’t even get a chance to say You’re it!

    Lezlie, I finished it last night and need to write my review. It was great.

    I’m having some formatting issues with this post that are driving me nuts. I think I will just let it go and accept that it’s not going to be perfectly spaced, etc. I don’t know why it won’t do what I want, but I guess I won’t let it aggravate me too much🙂

  4. I decided to play along with this one this week too!

  5. This one sounds like fun.

    From: The Lace Reader

    “When Cal accused Angela of witchcraft that night, she fell to her knees and confessed to it on the spot.

    After Angela admitted practicing witchcraft, the Calvanists paraded her all over town;”

    I’m not to this part in the book quite yet. Enjoying it though.

  6. Ti and I are reading the same book (because I took her advice). Her excerpt is better than mine, though.

  7. ohh!! i really want to play–but i’m “reading” 2 audio books right now–i’ve been driving a lot with no free time to read in ‘real life’ recently.

    the books i’m listening to are: ’emma’ by jane austen and ‘confessions of a jane austen addict’ by laurie viera rigler. i stumbled upon it at my library and was hooked by the title. it’s a clever premise and i’m enjoying the audio book–so much that i take the long way home some nights.🙂

    thanks for including me!!!

  8. Hey Lisa!
    I will play along over the weekend. Thanks for tagging me. BTW, I am reading Stephanie Kueehnert’s i WANNA BE YOUR JOEY RAMONE. So far it’s very good and taking me back to my Grunge loving and wearing days, though the book is about the love of Punk.
    XO-K

  9. […] info By Christina Categories: Teaser Tuedays I saw this at Books on the Brain, where it was traced it back to Should Be […]

  10. Fun! I’m reading “Beaking Dawn”, the teeny bopper vampire book by Stephenie Meyers that eveyone returned. I figure it won’t cost me anything, because I’ll just return it!
    Kidding! I love it. But I’m really immature.

    “She shot off into the trees like the most graceful bullet.
    ‘That was weird,’ I said when the sound of her flight had vanished completely.”

    I’m reading “The Lace Reader” next. That sounded good!

  11. That does sound interesting! This is my first time playing along with this meme too.🙂

  12. I realized in my excitement of being mentioned here at your awesome blog that I barely registered the passages you are reading. Some Russian lit, huh? and the sentence immediately makes me wonder why she ‘thought’ at all! Don’t mothers just instinctively throw themselves at danger when it involves their children? is this our moment to question her fitness as a mom? or is this a suicide question? too many QUESTIONS!

  13. Care, I can’t answer any of your questions because I haven’t read enough of it to know, but why don’t I send you the book when I’m done?

    Thanks everybody for all your interesting comments! Wow, the Lace Reader is really making the rounds. Ditto Breaking Dawn. I’m never reading the “in” book, I guess!

  14. […] Lisa at Books on the Brain tagged me on a Teaser Tuesday meme the other day and I promised to respond with my answer this weekend.  Well, I’m getting […]

  15. Oh no, Lisa, thank you but I have SO many books already! Keep for your kids? Since starting bookmooch and winning blog giveaways (and the can’t-resist excursions into the new Borders here) I have WAY too many books. for now. thx, Care

Leave a Reply

