Tuesday Teasers

 

  Teaser Tuesdays asks you to:

  • Grab your current read.
  • Let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
  • You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
  • Please avoid spoilers!
  • My two (2) “teaser” sentences for today:

    From page 45 of Sweetsmoke by David Fuller, a novel set during the Civil War, featuring a character named Cassius, a slave working on a Virginia tobacco plantation:

    “He did not know what existed out there.  He could not read, and to him, a map was nothing more than a jumble of shapes and lines.”  

     

    What are you reading this week?  Can you share two random sentences?

    4 Responses

    1. From page 89 of An Exact Replica of a Figment of My Imagination: “We went back and forth. My years as a librarian always help me in such situations: I am very good at keeping my cool with officious, insistent strangers, though my training is on the other side of the desk.” This book is Elizabeth McCracken’s memoir of a the heartbreak of a stillbirth and the joy of the child they had later.

    2. From page 145 of Loving Frank by Nancy Horan: “I love you so much. I love you enough that I want to stay separate from you.”

    3. That sounds good.

      Teaser

    Leave a Reply

