Sunday Salon

This is the last Sunday of summer vacation. My brats kids go back to school on Tuesday, and we are all excited (mostly me!) This summer felt about two weeks too long- you know it’s time to get back to the routine when everyone is fighting and whining and just generally not getting along. Sadly we have reached that point. My kids and I have been riding an emotional rollercoaster with huge peaks and terrifying valleys and all I can do is hang on and hope I don’t puke. I’ll be doing the happy dance in the school parking lot after dropping them off in 48 hours.

We crammed as much fun into this last week of vacation as we could stand. We visited Universal Studios Hollywood for the first time (The Simpsons virtual reality ride alone is worth the price of admission!). We made one last run to the water park before our passes expire. We had 10 giggly Girl Scouts camp out in a tent in the backyard. We went swimming at Grandma’s and cooked marshmallows over a fire. It’s been a fun overload. Too much fun. A fun frenzy. I feel a little dizzy and sick. You know how you can feel sick from eating too much candy? It’s like that.

School shopping took up a lot of our time this week, too. After checking out the class lists yesterday (which brought tears to my 9 year olds eyes because she and her best friend were separated) we went shopping for school supplies. School clothes and shoes and haircuts and backpacks and lunchboxes have wreaked havoc on an already tight budget, and the supplies busted it entirely. It made me crazy to pay full price for school supplies knowing full well it would all be 60% off in a week or two. But what are you gonna do? Schools have no money and kids need all this stuff.

I did do a little reading this week, but not much. I’m still reading Sweetsmoke (click HERE to enter my giveaway)- the book is great and it’s not the book’s fault that it’s taking me so long to read it. It’s just my vida loca and my forgetfulness- I would have had a couple extra hours with it if I hadn’t forgotten to grab it on our way out the door to Universal. Luckily for me I had my new book club selection in the trunk, so I started reading that. 3 Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson isn’t exactly a page-turner, but it’s good in it’s way. You should read it- it’s important, this book, but not enthralling. Like healthy food vs. junk food. Or like One a Day multiple vitamins. It’s good for you.

After 115 pages, I can also report that 3 Cups of Tea has one of the ickiest scenes I’ve come across in recent memory. After Greg witnesses a yak take a “huge, steaming” dump in the snow, a 10 year old girl races over and starts making yak dung patties- yes, that’s right, while it’s still oozing and steaming, she’s got her little hands in there, and pat, pat, pat, she’s making patties. Why? Because when it dries, it becomes precious fuel for their homes. Say it with me- Ewwwwwww. I kept thinking, how will she wash her hands? They have no running water, no hand sanitizers or anti bacterial soap. They’d have to melt snow over a (yak dung) fire, I suppose, so that she could wash up. And what do you want to bet she’s not sick a day in her life? Do you know how many times a day I say “Wash your hands”? My kids still get sick 3 or 4 times a year! Maybe I should send them to the back yard to make Golden Retriever dung patties.

We will be attending a wedding this afternoon. Our neighbor’s lovely 23 year old daughter is marrying her high school sweetheart. We’ve been neighbors since she was 5 years old so we’ve watched her grow up. It’s almost like one of my own kids getting married. She babysat our children from the time she was 14 until she went away to college and they adore her too. I’ve already stuffed my purse with tissues because there will be tears.

Labor Day Monday will be a day of relaxing and resting and getting ready for school. And then on Tuesday, yippee! The 1st day of school! Woo Hoo! Partaaaaaay!

Tuesday is also the beginning of our first TLC Book Tours!! We will have Kathyrn Maughan and Did I Expect Angels on tour (click here to see where she will be) along with Kathleen McCleary and House and Home (click here). We’ve also signed several new tours for October and November. Check it out!

What are you up to this weekend? And what are you reading?

18 Responses

  1. Wow, what a busy summer! I can’t quite imagine that these days. I hope you enjoy your first day of school Tuesday! ;o)

    Three Cups of Tea is up for me for my October book group. I’m looking forward to reading it finally.

  2. I’m reading Season of the Witch (3rd book you lent me). I blogged “Free Style” this week. I’m going to order “Yesterday’s Weather” and “My Husband’s Sweethearts” on-line today. I’m just where you are at with my kids this week… LET ME TELL YOU! Let me know if you got some more goodies for me to blog.

    Hang in there!

    Sher

  3. I’m reading two nonfiction books, Why We Hate Us and Ghost Train to the Eastern Star. Need to read Handmaid’s Tale, but I’m waiting for my Kindle battery to recharge.

  4. Hi Lisa! I finished THE SHACK earlier this week. Amazing Book – review on my blog. Now I’m reading CHASING WINDMILLS (loving it) and next up is OUT STEALING HORSES. Enjoy your holiday!

  5. Eww, that is yuck. Couldn’t she have waited until it at least wasn’t steaming? I wonder about the sickness part too.

  6. Golden Retriever Dung!! Hilarious!! I keep seeing this book but haven’t bought it yet. I think I’ll put it on my Amazon wish list. I take One-A-Day Women’s and it does make me feel good!
    Happy School Year!! School started in the DOD’s (Dept. of Defense) schools here last Monday and though I don’t have kids, I did have five ladies over for lunch on Thursday and three of them were celebrating the beginning of the school year and a more open calendar for themselves.
    ENJOY & Happy Reading!
    XOXO-K

  7. Wow! School for your kids starts a bit late. My kids have been in school for 3 weeks already. I hear ya on the school clothes. Our school district supplies all the school supplies so we are lucky there but shoes alone always do me in and my 4 year old won’t wear ANY of the new pairs we bought her right now. Grrrr.

    That dung description was too vivid for my brain. Ick.

  8. I forgot to mention what I am reading.. I am reading The Meaning of Night: A Confession. It’s for my book group and it grabbed my attention at page 1.

  9. That picture looks like you’re on the side of the freeway!

    So what will you be doing with your kid-free hours? Besides regaining your sanity…

  10. We are also looking forward to starting school tomorrow morning! Quite a change from my anxiety this year, I can hardly wait to drop her off, and run errands! I am really looking forward to the upcoming book tours, so I can see how others approach them. Selfish, I know!

  11. oops, I meant anxiety LAST YEAR!

  12. Glad you all got to cram in tons of fun before the summer comes to a close. Enjoy that happy dance tomorrow!

  13. I would love to know what you think of “Outcasts Of Skagaray” It is an action adventure, with a serious theme. For a free preview, there are sample chapters on the web site http://www.threeswans.com.au

  14. Happy Tuesday !- Hope you are resting in a dark room with a cool cloth on your forehead — until school gets out today and the chaos starts up again. I’m a happy mom today too.

  15. I had a love/hate relationship with *Three Cups of Tea*. I love what Mortenson is doing, but I hated Relin’s writing style … full review and examples of the strained metaphors that interrupted my readinger are here.

    We don’t start school until Thursday 9/4! Wednesday is just a 1-hour “meet your teacher” from 8-9a.m.! (you should have heard my reaction when I learned that school didn’t start Wed. as I thought!). I’m with you on the school supplies; we’re still trying to track down “college ruled” filler paper and spiral notebooks; my soon-to-be 7th grader insists on it! I hope you had some quiet time to yourself today (or brunch with friends and mimosas!)

  16. Hahaha, that’s so funny that you thought of hand sanitizer when you were reading that passage in Three Cups of Tea. I’ve got this one on my nightstand too because it’s the selection this month for my Public Library Book Club. I’m not super looking forward to it though because it sounds a lot like “Leaving Microsoft to Change the World,” which I read last year. At least now I know I have yak patties to look forward to😉

  17. I love the family picture! For some reason it reminds me of National Lampoon’s Family Vacation. Everytime we go away we bicker with out teenage boys constantly, and it’s torture, and then afterward we talk about what a nice time we had. It’s pretty twisted.

  18. […] other stuff happens with the Taliban and al Queda, and some schools get built.  There is the yak dung incident.  There is an ibex hunt.  Some feasting.  A baby is born.  Everybody has tea.  More […]

Leave a Reply

