BBAW Giveaway! Agatha Christie Lovers, This is for YOU!

Hercule Poirot, the fictional Belgian detective created by Agatha Christie, appeared in 33 novels and 51 short stories before being killed off in Curtain (published in 1975, the year before Christie died), and was the only fictional character to be given an obituary in The New York Times, on August 6, 1975. Poirot, played by many actors over the years, including Albert Finney and Tony Randall, was a small fastidious man with great dignity, always incredibly neat and impeccably dressed, with a stiff upturned moustache, dark hair and green eyes.

Actor David Suchet stars as Agatha Christie’s beloved Belgian sleuth in four complete, feature-length mysteries in one DVD set. They are:

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd-Poirot’s retirement in a quiet country village is abruptly ended by the death of his disagreeable neighbor.
Lord Edgware Dies-Intervening in a sticky marital situation, Poirot suddenly finds himself in the midst of murder.
Murder in Mesopotamia-Poirot is visiting an ancient site in Iraq when the head archeologist’s unpopular wife is killed.
Evil Under the Sun-Death intrudes on Poirot’s island holiday, and only he can determine who is responsible.

Would you like to own Agatha Christie’s Poirot: The Complete Collection DVD set? You WOULD?? I thought so! If you’re a fan of Agatha Christie mysteries, leave a comment by September 23rd, the day the set will be released, and tell us which one is your favorite for a chance to win this collection, courtesy of A&E and Books on the Brain! Thanks, A&E, for helping us celebrate Book Blogger Appreciation Week!

20 Responses

  1. Great giveaway! I’d save to say I would like most to see Murder in Mesopotamia.

  2. oooh! husban-dito and i LURVE watching ‘the belgium eavesdropper’ together! EUTS is a good one…so please sign me up!🙂 thanks.

  3. Murder in Mesopotamia — it’s fascinating to contrast the romantic attitudes of Christie’s day with the events in the region today.

  4. No need to enter me, Lisa.

    I just wanted to say I’ve never read Agatha Christie. Can you believe it?

    I think I’ll start with The Murder of Roger Akroyd though. I’ve heard so many good things about that one.

    I remember my cousin, when we were in middle school, reading these on the school bus.

  5. Evil Under the Sun is my favorite. What a wonderful giveaway – thanks!
    brightmyer249(at)hotmail(dot)com

  6. Wow, what a fantastic giveaway. I have not seen any of these movies, but my husband and his mom are always talking about Agatha Christie and The Murder of Roger Ackroyd. I would love to be entered into this contest to provide my husband with some goodies after all he has put up with my river of books that keep streaming in through the mail. 🙂

  7. Evil Under The Sun would be my fave out of this DVD collection but I remember reading And Then There Were None and loving it.

  8. Of the ones in the collection, Murder in Mesopotamia is my favorite. I love books with archaeological elements.

    My favorite Christie novels, overall, are probably The Moving Finger (Miss Marple) and for Poirot, it’s harder to choose. There are so many that I love! Then There Were None, Murder on the Orient Express, and Death on the Nile are probably my top three. Taken at the Flood is also high up there. It takes place during the Blitz, which is one of my favorite subjects to read about. How can you not love a book that starts off like this: “In every club there is a club bore. The Coronation Club was no exception; and the fact that an Air Raid was in progress made no difference to normal procedure.”?

    Thanks for the chance at this great giveaway! I read all of Agatha Christie’s books as a teenager, and have really enjoyed re-visiting them this year as an adult!

  9. What a great giveaway! Murder in Mesopotamia is my favorite. Please enter me. Thank you!!

    Traci
    tracisharpton@msn.com

  10. I don’t know if I have a favorite b/c it’s been so long since I’ve read or watched them. I do remember LOVING Murder on the Orient Express though. I’d love to win these DVDs. It would be lots of fun to watch them with my Gram – she loves British tv, British comedy, and all the old mystery programs. We’d have a blast with these!

  11. Who could resist entering! The Christie moves are all so well done!

    My first choice would be Evil Under the Sun. Christie had her own experience of Mesopotamia, and of archaeology, making it even more fun to experience the imagined story.

    Thanks for thinking of this delightful idea!

  12. I have only read one Agatha Christie book, and that was awhile ago. I’m entering this contest for my sister because she was a big Agatha Christie fan for awhile and I thought this would be a cool surprise gift for her.

  13. Oh I so love AG!!! “The murder of Roger A….”, is a great story filled with dark sick humor!
    Thank you for the opportunity!
    Darby
    darbyscloset (at) yahoo (dot) com

  14. Great giveaway! Murder in Mesopotamia.

  15. I have never in my life read Agatha Christie, but I’d really love to be entered into this giveaway if I can. I’ve always wanted to read Murder on the Orient Express, though. Can that count for me?

  16. This is a cool giveaway. Thanks!
    I’ve never read Agatha Christie – there is no excuse.

  17. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd is my favorite! Thank you for such a gread giveaway!
    mittens0831 AT aol DOT com

  18. Of course, I meant such a GREAT giveaway! lol

  19. Am I too late? Drats! The only one out of all these that I’ve read is “Evil Under the Sun.”

    Enter me if there’s still time.

  20. Whoah!! How did I almost miss this??? I love Agatha Christie and especially all the Hercule Peroit stories! Just saying his name is fun since it gives me a chance to practice my very rusty french. I love all of the mentioned episodes but for the sake of the contest I would have to pick “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd”. It has all the usual twists, turns and intrigues. But it is the planned retirement story line that grabs me the most. Of course anyone that knows Peroit’s personality, immediately sees what a mistake he is making in thinking about retiring to the “quiet” country life”. His cute quirkiness mixes like water with oil with those in the small town mentality. In usual Peroit fashion he comes to find an answer to his quest by the end and realizes maybe the retiring days are not yet here. Much to the gratefulness of his legions of fans that were not ready to say goodbye either. And thanks to A&E, Peroit and all the other wonderful Agatha Christie characters are able to live and and be revisited again and again…

Leave a Reply

