Review? Haiku! Giftcard Giveaway at Fyrefly’s Book Blog

In honor of Book Blogger Appreciation Week, Fyrefly’s Book Blog is hosting a giveaway! She says:

We all love reading and writing book reviews, but let’s face it, even the most straight-forward of us gets a little wordy at times. After reading Adventures in Reading’s post on book reviews vs. blurbs, I decided to see if I could hone my conciseness to a point by fitting my reviews into haiku form. This isn’t an idea that’s unique to me; my friend A was reviewing books on LibraryThing in this format for a while, and I know others have done it before her. Still, once I got started, I found it hard to stop! 

Well, a poet I’m not!  But I had to try my hand at this, so I used 3 Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and Capote in Kansas by Kim Powers for inspiration, and quickly came up with three haikus.  I’m not pretending they’re good or anything!!  But Fyrefly is giving away a $20 Amazon gift card, so what the heck.

 

He builds schools for girls

Pakistan, Afghanistan’s

American friend.

 

He saw their hopes, dreams

to educate their daughters

and live better lives. 

 

 

 

 

Late night drunken calls

Mockingbirds want privacy

Ghosts demand answers

 

What about you?  Can you review in haiku?

12 Responses

  1. NO, I cannot!

    Check out the contests on Thursday’s Thoughts, chica! You haven’t entered!

    Sher

  2. Haiku is the only poetry form that completely flummoxes me. I can’t do it. The only ‘F’ I ever received in an English class was for a haiku…that had 19 syllables.

  3. Great job, Lisa. Hope you win that gift card!

    I was too intimidated to even try this, but I’m so impressed by Nicki’s contest and the ones she posted on her blog.

  4. I think you are underestimating your poetic abilities! Fantastic job.

  5. Lisa – thanks for the mention! I especially like your last one… very poetic!

    Everyone else – I’m really, really not judging on quality (I can’t even imagine how I’d begin to do that). I’m picking the winner at random… please don’t be intimidated!

  6. […] it! fyreflybooks on Review? Haiku! Giftcard Give…Holly on BBAW Giveaway! Agatha Christi…Heather J. on BBAW Giveaway! Agatha […]

  7. Very creative! And, no, this is one contest I cannot enter. I can hardly write a sentence so poetry is out! LOL

  8. How fun! Fyrefly had a unique contest idea, and Lisa your submissions are great!

  9. I can’t Haiku at all. I like you Capote in Kansas haiku. Very fitting! And I agree with Serena…you did a great job!

  10. awesome! I’m impressed.

  11. Those are great!🙂 I wrote mine about Melmoth the Wanderer…
    and I’m actually quite proud of it.🙂 I’ll post mine this weekend.

  12. I am completely and utterly hopeless when it comes to Haikus. I can never get them right for some reason. So I give you huge KUDOS for yours🙂

Leave a Reply

