And the winner is…

Joshua Henkin, author of Matrimony, chose the winner for the giveaway of a signed paperback edition of his book. I had asked people to make a comment about marriage for a chance to win, and boy, did I get comments! Some were thoughtful, some were funny, some insightful and some snarky. But the winning entry was from Yasmin, who said the following (she practically wrote a book herself!):

“I’ve been married for 17 years. I was previously engaged to someone who was killed by a drunk driver. My fiancee then was my soul mate and I honestly didn’t think I would ever find another good man who could love me the way that he did. Especially since we had known each other for 12 years…had been through breakups and split-ups from others…before we ever thought that just maybe we as two really good BFF should be dating. My world came crashing down when he was killed!


At that time, my husband was just a male friend…but a friend in deed…who knew that I was working 60-80 hour weeks to kill the pain. He would stop by ever so often to check on me and make sure that I was taking care of myself. He also started to ask me out…he knew that I enjoyed going to the movies so we had a movie date every Friday and Saturday…I can’t believe that we found that many good movies to see…lol.


One day I looked up and realized that he had a lot of good traits and he was someone that I could fall in love with it if I allowed myself to do so. But it was a little scary and I realized that I hesitated and was a little afraid because he reminded me so much of my dead fiancee.

Hubby/ We started dating and 9 months later we were married. We will celebrate our 17th anniversary on October 5th. Together we’ve had two kids, purchased two homes, gone through I don’t know how many job changes…including me leaving a very good job after 13 years because…sigh…the death of parents and grandparents…a bout with breast cancer I’m an 8 year survivor and even tho’ my husband is a breast man…if it was the breast or me…well he chose Me…I could have reconstructive surgery but he could never get another me…and with a name like Yasmin…you must know that I’m very unique and no one even comes close to being me.

Marriage is accepting each other as you are…in sickness and in health…for richer for poorer…for better for worst.

Marriage …when it’s good…it’s real good…and it’s like hanging out with your BFF!

I hope to spend the rest of my life with my husband…because honestly I can be a diva to live with and no one else understands me the way he does.”

Congratulations, Yasmin! I will email you to get your address.

Do you have a book group that is interested in reading Matrimony? Would you like to enhance your meeting with a phone chat with the author? Here is an open letter to book groups, from Joshua Henkin:

I also wanted to let you know about a special time-bound offer that my publisher, Vintage, is making to book groups. Sign up by midnight September 30 and Vintage will set up a phone chat for your book group with me to discuss MATRIMONY. Normally, only five book groups are chosen among the entrants, but I have agreed to talk to all book groups that sign up. Here’s the link to learn more, and to sign up. I would be delighted to talk to your book group.

7 Responses

  1. Wow! I would definitely say Yasmin deserves that book.

  2. I’m so excited…thank you!

    yasmin at yahoo dot com

  3. Thanks Kathy!
    xoxo

  4. Yasmin, I am so touched by your story! You go, girl! You’ve already got it all, but I hope that you really enjoy this book, too.🙂

  5. Based on that comment, I’m glad Yasmin won. That’s a beautiful story.

    For the others, I’m running a contest for this book, too. So, for a second chance check out this link:
    http://nbbaker1102.wordpress.com/2008/09/05/my-first-giveaway-courtesy-of-joshua-henkin/

  6. Yasmin, congatulations and thank you for sharing your story. It is touching and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

