Booking Through Thursday: Book Meme

Book Meme October 9, 2008

Filed under: WordPress — –Deb @ 1:04 am 

btt button

I’ve seen this series of questions floating around the ‘net the last few days, and thought it looked like a good one for us!

What was the last book you bought?

Autobiography of a Face by Lucy Grealy

Name a book you have read MORE than once

Ethan Fromme by Edith Wharton

Has a book ever fundamentally changed the way you see life? If yes, what was it?

I can’t think of a particular title but I read a lot of parenting books, so maybe one of those!

How do you choose a book? eg. by cover design and summary, recommendations or reviews

All of the above!  I love a good cover design and often check out this site for cover commentary:  COVERS

Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?

I read both but definitely prefer fiction.  I love to escape into an author’s imagination.

What’s more important in a novel – beautiful writing or a gripping plot?

Can I have both, please?  I can appreciate one without the other but I really like when both are present!

Most loved/memorable character (character/book)

Jo March from Little Women, Scout from To Kill a Mockingbird.

Which book or books can be found on your nightstand at the moment?

The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff, Autobiography of a Face by Lucy Grealy, Mexican High by Liza Monroy, Kandide and the Secret of the Mists by Dianna Zimmerman (reading aloud with my kids for my book club meeting in November)

What was the last book you’ve read, and when was it?

I’ve got about 100 pages to go in The 19th Wife (it’s over 500 pages)

Have you ever given up on a book half way in?

Yes, more times than I care to admit!  Generally if I put a book aside to start another one, I don’t go back to the first book.  That doesn’t always happen, but it happens often enough so that I know if I want to finish a book I better not start another one.

15 Responses

  1. This is a good meme.

    What are you thinking of the 19th Wife? I finished and have my review already written. It was good but there are things that could have been left out which would have made it better.

    Oh, and I totally love Scout and Jo March.

  2. I have The 19th Wife on my nightstand…but I haven’t started it yet. Looking forward to your thoughts…

  3. I used to plow through, reading until the end, no matter how terrible the book. Now, I have become more choosy. Reading time is precious.

  4. Reading these posts today can be addictive.🙂 I would add Scout to my list, too!

  5. I just did a meme last night but I had to do this one too!

  6. This question pretty much sums up many of the past ones.

    I mostly read fiction, although once in a while a non-fiction, like history or a biography will interest me.

    My favorite genres are historical fiction, foreign literature, and classics.

    My complete answer.

  7. Oh, I loved Ethan Frome, but I haven’t read it in ages. I should go back and reread it.

  8. Thanks for the link to Covers! I am drawn to cover art and love a unique/beautiful cover.

  9. I love the link to Covers! I’m a cover person too. I’ll be spending a little time at that site today!

  10. I did my first BTT yesterday; I could answer these without much deep thought …

    Scout and Jo March are great picks!

    Linking over to the “covers” site now …

  11. I loved Scout…..that was a great answer!!

  12. Those are great memorable characters!

  13. Wow. Ethan Frome. It’s been ages. So glad you mentioned it. Like this meme a lot – off I go with some new titles added to burgeoning booklist!

  14. i’ve read so many books more than once–any book by bill bryson especially.

    as for the last book(s) purchased, the ‘twilight’ series by stephenie meyer. they are young adult, but the female population of my high school is addicted and running around with their noses stuck in these books so i had to find out why.

    i admit it…it was hooked too. 🙂 and so i bought all four. and then gave the first one to my little sister (who hates reading) and she was HOOKED. she even took out the other 3 books from the ibrary.

  15. Great topic!
    I’ve just posted it on my blog, also.
    Might be an interesting Q & A for my book club!
    Thanks for posting.
    Ciao,
    Brenda

Leave a Reply

